Slow Cooker Guisado Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I used fresh tomatillos and I'm not sure if those made the recipe too watery, or it just had too much liquid. It was still good, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Really easy & delicious. Hubby loved it. Added 2 chicken bouillon cubes after reading the reviews, and it made the bland broth taste much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Like others who did this, I substituted with a jarred salsa verde. I think I may have used too much chicken broth for my personal liking as I never could get it to thicken enough to serve on tortillas. Instead, we did rice bowls, which my kids then turned into burritos. Served with Mamacita's Rice - the spice factor wasn't an issue for my tender tummy'ed husband and everybody really enjoyed the meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was flavorful and easy. Definitely we'll have it again. I substituted chicken for pork and green tomatoes (the abundant garden!) for tomatillos. I also used chicken broth. We served it over spanish brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Great recipe! I have made it several times.I did use fresh tomatillos and roasted them before I added them to the crock pot. My husband loves when I make tacos with the shredded meat (minus the juice) use corn tortillas, add the shredded meat to the taco, top with chopped onion and cilantro, crumble the Mexican chesse "cotija" on top (add salsa verde if you like it hot!). reminds me of home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I made this dish for our weekly Bible Study Potluck Dinner and it was a huge hit! Our local grocery store does not carry the canned tomatillos so I purchased the equivalent weight in fresh tomatillos, cut them up and sauted them along with the onions and they worked great. I did not even have to take the meat out of the crookpot to shred it. I just used a large spoon to break it up, so each bowl had some nice chunks of meat, in addition to topping with the cilantro and the Monterrey Jack cheese I also garnished with some avocado. This recipe is a keeper, will double next time. 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Excellent. A little on the hot side for us, but still excellent. I used boneless country style ribs and cut them into chunks before I browned them. I used less jalapeno than called for (last year’s harvest, which I froze, were HOT), and rounded everything out with some salsa verde in addition to the tomatillos and green chilies. I found it unnecessary to add any water. I served this over Mamacita’s Mexican Rice along with some sour cream and guacamole, and Skillet Summer Squash, both recipes also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
My husband went food shopping and mistakenly bought 2 lbs. of boneless pork loin chops so we had to keep an eye on the meal so it wouldn't be mush. I did a quick cook on the stove top just so I would have the juices to cook the onion and garlic. I also used 2 16 oz. jars of the Herdez verde like others recommended. I also used a little less than a qt. of chicken broth instead of water. I cooked it on low for about 7 hours. We used it for tacos and then for the stew the second night. Great flavor and the cilantro really makes it. Great cheap meal to use for 2 nights too. We are only 2 people so 4 servings was just enough for us (2 tacos and stew). I plan on making a lot of this for when we have company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
This was very good. Definitely needed more spice. Good all round recipe though. Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States