Slow Cooker Guisado Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This was awesome. I used chicken broth instead of water and used one large jalapeno instead of two. I served it with shredded cheese and reduced fat sour cream, with arepas and yellow rice on the side. My version was too soup like for putting in a tortilla, but I imagine without (or with a lot less) water/broth it would be more of a filling. In any case it was lip smacking good and we hardly had any leftovers between my boyfriend and I since we stuffed ourselves. Will be making again...and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Fantastic, even for the kids! I used pork loin instead of shoulder and used fresh tomatillos instead of canned or jarred salsa verde to avoid the additives and preservatives. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I have a picky family, but we are usually good to try new Mexican recipes. Today I made this Guisado Verde using about 3# of a Boston Butt pork roast. I took the advice of a couple of the reviewers and used Herdes salsa verde (my favorite) instead of the tomatillos, chiles, etc. I also used chicken broth instead of water. I did not use jalapenos, because my wife and son are more "delicate" than I am. The roast stewed for about 6 or so hours, then I shredded it and cooked for another 30 minutes as I made some cilantro lime rice to serve as a side. I served it in my bowl with cheese and sour cream as a soup, with rice on the side. For the second bowl I served it over the rice. The flavor was really good, and my wife said she will eat it again; however, she prefers less liquid and more of a chile verde consistency. It is a great recipe to play around with, and I recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This turned out wonderful! I made it with two pounds of fresh tomatillos that I cooked down with 1.5 cups for water, garlic, salt and cilantro. I served it more like a caldo with corn tortillas in the bottom of a soup bowl. I did serve the caldo with a dollop of sour cream and the cheese! I also only used 1 jalapeno so kids would tolerate it! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I used fresh tomatillos and I'm not sure if those made the recipe too watery, or it just had too much liquid. It was still good, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Really easy & delicious. Hubby loved it. Added 2 chicken bouillon cubes after reading the reviews, and it made the bland broth taste much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Like others who did this, I substituted with a jarred salsa verde. I think I may have used too much chicken broth for my personal liking as I never could get it to thicken enough to serve on tortillas. Instead, we did rice bowls, which my kids then turned into burritos. Served with Mamacita's Rice - the spice factor wasn't an issue for my tender tummy'ed husband and everybody really enjoyed the meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was flavorful and easy. Definitely we'll have it again. I substituted chicken for pork and green tomatoes (the abundant garden!) for tomatillos. I also used chicken broth. We served it over spanish brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Great recipe! I have made it several times.I did use fresh tomatillos and roasted them before I added them to the crock pot. My husband loves when I make tacos with the shredded meat (minus the juice) use corn tortillas, add the shredded meat to the taco, top with chopped onion and cilantro, crumble the Mexican chesse "cotija" on top (add salsa verde if you like it hot!). reminds me of home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States