Slow Cooker Guisado Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
It's still cooking away in the slow cooker, but I snuck a taste and WOW! I used chicken breasts, fresh tomatillos and instead of jalapenos I used a habanero because I like it spicy. I also used chicken broth, but only used 2 pints instead of a quart because I don't want it too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Fantastic ! I used just one jalapeño (unseeded) and threw in a chicken bullion cube with the water. Midway through the cook, I tasted the broth, told everyone to forget about this for dinner, TOO HOT. Went ahead and let it finish off and when I plated it, FANTASTIC. Not too hot, calmed right down. Absolutely one of the best dishes I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
We were hoping it would be like a nice, green chile stew, but the flavors just weren't there. You can't count on canned green chile for any flavor...gotta have the real deal--fresh and roasted! Anyway, it was an easy meal and it smelled really good all day...would probably be great for people with a blander palate, but we were hoping for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This was awesome. I used chicken broth instead of water and used one large jalapeno instead of two. I served it with shredded cheese and reduced fat sour cream, with arepas and yellow rice on the side. My version was too soup like for putting in a tortilla, but I imagine without (or with a lot less) water/broth it would be more of a filling. In any case it was lip smacking good and we hardly had any leftovers between my boyfriend and I since we stuffed ourselves. Will be making again...and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Fantastic, even for the kids! I used pork loin instead of shoulder and used fresh tomatillos instead of canned or jarred salsa verde to avoid the additives and preservatives. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I have a picky family, but we are usually good to try new Mexican recipes. Today I made this Guisado Verde using about 3# of a Boston Butt pork roast. I took the advice of a couple of the reviewers and used Herdes salsa verde (my favorite) instead of the tomatillos, chiles, etc. I also used chicken broth instead of water. I did not use jalapenos, because my wife and son are more "delicate" than I am. The roast stewed for about 6 or so hours, then I shredded it and cooked for another 30 minutes as I made some cilantro lime rice to serve as a side. I served it in my bowl with cheese and sour cream as a soup, with rice on the side. For the second bowl I served it over the rice. The flavor was really good, and my wife said she will eat it again; however, she prefers less liquid and more of a chile verde consistency. It is a great recipe to play around with, and I recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This turned out wonderful! I made it with two pounds of fresh tomatillos that I cooked down with 1.5 cups for water, garlic, salt and cilantro. I served it more like a caldo with corn tortillas in the bottom of a soup bowl. I did serve the caldo with a dollop of sour cream and the cheese! I also only used 1 jalapeno so kids would tolerate it! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I used fresh tomatillos and I'm not sure if those made the recipe too watery, or it just had too much liquid. It was still good, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Really easy & delicious. Hubby loved it. Added 2 chicken bouillon cubes after reading the reviews, and it made the bland broth taste much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Like others who did this, I substituted with a jarred salsa verde. I think I may have used too much chicken broth for my personal liking as I never could get it to thicken enough to serve on tortillas. Instead, we did rice bowls, which my kids then turned into burritos. Served with Mamacita's Rice - the spice factor wasn't an issue for my tender tummy'ed husband and everybody really enjoyed the meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States