Slow Cooker Guisado Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
We love this and it's SO easy! I used can salsa verde because I couldn't find canned tomatillos. I also used chicken broth instead of water. Will be making this very often. It's great to make soft tacos with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I used left over pork that I cooked in a slow cooker with mushrooms. I chopped it all up, put it in a sauce pan and used a bottle of salsa verde and chicken broth and garlic. I didnt put in the jalepenos because one of my sons cant handle hot food. It was very good. I will make this again sometime exactly how you are sapose to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
YUMM!! Just like my Mom's, but no potatoes. I followed the recipe, except used chicken broth in place of water. It could be a soup, add potatoes for stew, use meat for tacos, then make burritos. Very versatile and YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
OMG!!! I love, love, love this recipe!!!! I kinda added some of my own ingredients but it was sooooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamalucas03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Mmmm. So good. I simplified this recipe by substituting 2 jars of Herdez salsa verde for the tomatillos and chiles and doubled up on the garlic because I LOVE garlic. I also substituted Dos Equis beer for the water. This was killer. So delicious and so easy. It would make an excellent base for a green pork chilli if you wanted to add a couple of cans of white beans as well. Hominy would be a fun addition too. I will make this again and again. Mmmmmm. Also, a note, if you can acquire Mexican oregano, your tastebuds will thank you. It has an amazing earthy flavour that you just can't replicate with anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUSCIOUSLEMONADE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
This recipe was out of this world. We all loved it! YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
My husband and son love this recipe. I have made it twice and followed the recipe to a T. Excellent, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
YUMMY!!!! No changes to the recipe except that I added chicken broth instead of water. You could eat as a stew, but we opted for putting it in flour tortillas with some chese, sour cream and salsa. It was soooooo goooood!!!!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
My husband made this last Sunday for a family dinner and all of the adults LOVED it! This dish is just bursting with flavor! However, our young children found it a bit too spicy (we used medium heat salsa verde, the only one we could find). Next time we will probably leave out the jalapenos unless we can find mild salsa verde. We only made a couple minor changes: we cooked this on the stove and we cubed the meat rather than shredding it. Served this over rice with cheese and sour cream on the side. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
DELICIOUS...full of flavor and spicy. I forgot to read the reviews before assembling the recipe. So, yes, I added Season Salt to taste. It was very soupy. So I added instant potato flakes to thicken slightly. Couldn't find canned tomatillos. I used fresh that I sauted slightly. Also, served it over tortilla chips, which absorbed even more liquid and added a nice flavor. Salsa and sour cream as a topper. I would definiately make this again, maybe even the same way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hiram, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States