Slow Cooker Guisado Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
WOW! I had to tweak this a little because I couldn't find canned tomatillos (used Herdez Salsa verde as someone else suggested). We like things spicy, but I omitted the canned chiles and jalapeno because I didn't have any, and I still think it's plenty spicy. YUM!!! I used a one #roast for my small family and cut it into chunks before browning so it would cook a little faster, used one can of salsa verde and one small can of chicken broth instead of the water, was pretty liberal with the onions, garlic and oregano, and it's "soupy" enough that I'll add some barley or quinoa before serving to make it more "stew" like. I plan to reserve some of the meaty filling to use in tacos or burritos later in the week. I cooked it on high for the first four hours, then switched it to low, and it's falling-apart tender after two more hours on low. Oh-and I added a hefty dash of cumin to the mix, just cause we like it. Sorry to folks who don't like it when reviewers review recipes with changes, but this came out so awesome, I had to share. It'll be a great "spice things up" dinner for a very cold, blah winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I loved this recipe so much that I couldn't help but tweak it a little bit. First, I cut the pork into pieces no larger than 2-3" in any dimension before browning it. This added a bit more 'browned meat' flavor to the mix. This also reduced time in the slow cooker to about 4-1/2 hours but extended the preparation time by about 15-20 minutes. I then used about a 1/4 cup water to get the rue out of the pan. Why leave that flavor in a pan or washed down a sink? Second I use a pound of fresh tomatillos cut in halves or quarters depending on size. Because the fresh tomatillos lose a lot of water during the cooking cycle, no water was added except that used to get the rue out of the pan. I did have to stir the mixture a few times in the slow cooker to ensure the ingredients on top exchanged places with those on the bottom for the best result. A little more work but I think it was well worth it. As an added bonus this makes an excellent taco ingredient: 1 white corn soft tortilla (heated), 1 heaping tablespoon or so of this excellent dish, a light sprinkle of shredded jack cheese, a nice bit of chopped cilantro (to taste), a dash of hot sauce (also to taste), (optional) a few drops fresh lime juice which works well with the cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This is a very good recipe. I have made it 2 times and changed the following both times to make sure it was consistently wonderful. I used Boneless Pork Roasts(2 pack at my local store), inexpensive, lean and less waste. I used 1 1/2 to 2 pounds of Fresh Tomatillos, roasted on my bbq till soft and marked well. Used Vegetable Broth instead of water and Mexican Oregano. Other ingredients the same as recipe. I place pork on bottom of Slow Cooker, Everything else on top of pork. After cooking on high for 7 hrs in slow cooker, remove pork. Strain tomatillos, peppers, etc. Save the broth. Blend to make a beautiful Verde sauce, add broth to achieve the desired sauce consistency. Put pork back in broth to keep warm and moist till serving. I serve with roasted red or yellow potatoes. Can freeze leftover pork and sauce. I use leftover pork, reheated with some of the Verde sauce and broth and shred it to make Fried rolled taco's. It's all good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christineservando

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Oh MY GOSH! This is great! It smelled so good that when we served it up we forgot the sour cream and cheese... and didn't miss them! Fabulous recipe and so simple! I removed the seeds from the jalapeños but left the core and the heat seemed pretty moderate to me. Next time I'll try it with chicken broth, and maybe another time, I'll make it with chicken instead of pork... seems like that would work as well! Sort of a Latin version of coq-au-vin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
very good, almost too much meat, if that's possible. I would probably cut back to 1-1/2 lbs of meat. i was worried that with all that water, it'd be bland, but the flavors and the fat from the meat made for a real nice taste. also used only about 3 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Great recipe! Only thing I added was Knorr caldo de pollo (chicken bouillon). Didn't need anything more. Great flavor with a little kick. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This was delicious! I already had leftover shredded pork with garlic and onions, so I started with step 3 and made it on the stove top. I couldn't find canned tomatillos so I used fresh instead. I chopped them up and cooked them in just a bit of water until they were soft, then added the other ingredients. It took a little extra effort but it worked fine. We ate it over plain white rice with extra cilantro and monterey jack cheese. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
First I want to say a big thank you to Shel1986 for her suggestion to use Herdez brand Salsa Verde. For everyone who complained this recipe was bland next time add 8-16 oz of this Salsa Verde in your crockpot and watch your mouth explode with flavor at dinnertime. I substituted a bottle of Corona beer for the water. Second I omitted the tomatillos, green chiles, and jalapeno peppers and instead added 16 oz of Herdez Salsa Verde. I doubled the oregano to 2 tsp. I also added 2 T of fresh Key lime juice. (I kept the onions, cillantro, and garlic amounts as per the recipe). If you don't like super hot spicy then back down on the Salsa Verde and add it in 1/4 cup increments until you get the right level of heat for your personal preference. This pork had a complexity of flavors with the garlic, salsa verde, oregano, lime juice, cilantro, and onions. I'm not a big pork fan but this turned out to be the best pork recipe I've ever fixed. Forget the chipotle peppers in adobo sauce and find yourself some Herdez salsa verde instead. This recipe is a keeper. In fact I'm going to dig out a couple of more pork shoulders from the freezer to cook and freeze in smaller portions for making enchiladas, tacos, and burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Loved this recipe.. could use the left over pork so many ways! I did use veggie broth and 3 peppers. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States