Slow Cooker Guisado Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
This is great! I used chicken broth in place of the water and maybe only a 1/2 tsp. dried Cilantro because I don't care that much for it. I also used pork loin instead of pork shoulder because it is what I had. It turned out awesome and quite spicy which I love! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
ooh soooooooo good. I changed it though. My guests would have not eaten anything spicy, so I omitted the tomatillos and jalapenos, and instead used a jar of salsa with seasoning salt. It was GREAT. Everyones favorite. I'm going to use the drained meat for tamales.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Mmmm. So good. I simplified this recipe by substituting 2 jars of Herdez salsa verde for the tomatillos and chiles and doubled up on the garlic because I LOVE garlic. I also substituted Dos Equis beer for the water. This was killer. So delicious and so easy. It would make an excellent base for a green pork chilli if you wanted to add a couple of cans of white beans as well. Hominy would be a fun addition too. I will make this again and again. Mmmmmm. Also, a note, if you can acquire Mexican oregano, your tastebuds will thank you. It has an amazing earthy flavour that you just can't replicate with anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUSCIOUSLEMONADE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This recipe was soooo good!!! I substituted fresh tomatillos for canned, chicken broth for water, and left out the cilantro (because I forgot to buy it). It was exactly the type of chili verde recipe I was looking for! Thanks so much for posting it, Fastcooker!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
Excellent recipe! Served with flour tortillas, refried beans and salad. Everyone loved it including my 11 year old who is a very picky eater and my husband who is not too crazy about Mexican food. I made the house smell great too because everyone who came through the door said "smells yummy in here". The only things I changed was adding a can of chicken broth in place of the 1 quart of water and I used pork loin chops (I am sure anytype of boneless pork would go great). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
This was absolutely delicious!!!!!! I used chicken broth as someone had suggested and I used serrano peppers (just because that's what I had on hand). I might use less liquid next time, but that definately didn't bug me enough that I won't make it again. We will be making this a lot!!!!!!!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HADHAFANG13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
My husband made this last Sunday for a family dinner and all of the adults LOVED it! This dish is just bursting with flavor! However, our young children found it a bit too spicy (we used medium heat salsa verde, the only one we could find). Next time we will probably leave out the jalapenos unless we can find mild salsa verde. We only made a couple minor changes: we cooked this on the stove and we cubed the meat rather than shredding it. Served this over rice with cheese and sour cream on the side. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
YUMMY!!!! No changes to the recipe except that I added chicken broth instead of water. You could eat as a stew, but we opted for putting it in flour tortillas with some chese, sour cream and salsa. It was soooooo goooood!!!!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
My husband and son love this recipe. I have made it twice and followed the recipe to a T. Excellent, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
This recipe was out of this world. We all loved it! YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States