Slow Cooker Guisado Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I substituted the tomatillos for a jar of salsa verde and a bit extra normal salsa, I wasn't sure what this was going to taste like but I was really surprised by how delicious this was... i cooked on the stove for two hours, rather than in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Maidstone, Kent, England, U.K.
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This is really good! I took the advice from other reviewers and I replaced the tomatillos w/ salsa Verde and I used 1/2 can of broth instead of water. I also replaced the seasonings with Adobo Seasoning from penzeys. This is a keeper in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Loved this! Next time I'll kick up the spice a little bit more, but this was very tasty. Used a 3lb pork loin- cooked whole. Couldn't find tomatillo's (in AZ- I know it's weird right?) so I used a 16 oz jar of Salsa Verde as suggested by others. Also used 12oz beer instead of water (also another helpful suggestion :-) My fiance liked this so much he requested I make it on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Excellent flavor! I made it with a whole pork tenderloin cubed and browned because that's what I had on hand. Next time I would double the amount of meat I use because it is turning out quite brothy. I did adjust the spices to my prefered level of heat and did throw in a packet of Goya Sazon con culantrro y achiote. Instead of water as the recipe calls for, or the chicken broth others suggest, I used a can of vegetable broth... lots of flavor, but I prefer it with pork because the taste is more "neutral". I'll be serving over a nice garlicky white rice pilaf dish and refritos on the side.... Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Yum! I was only able to find one can of tomatillos so I used some salsa verde with it. Soooo good!! Next time I'll have to try adding beer for the liquid as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Delish! Easy to make, cheap, and sooo good! Like some others suggested, I substituted a large jar of green salsa for the tomatillos and jalepenos. I also used broth, not water, and added 4 diced red potatoes. It was soooo good! Delicious served over rice with sour cream and jack cheese! We're planning to use the leftovers as enchilada filling/ sauce. Thank you for a great, easy, fast, super great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This was pretty good. I also added a couple of potatoes to make it more "stewy". I added several fresh jalapenos, I'll watch that next time as it made it really spicy. Seved it with mexican corn bread. Havent' decided if I'll make it again. It is very different, not in a bad way, but still very different. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I've made this twice and my husband and I both really like this recipe. I've never had anything quite like it. I use the Herdez salsa verde as well. I added potatoes the second time at my husband's request and it made it thicker for a stew. I like to serve it with simple cheese quesadillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Delicious! I made this with beef roast rather than pork, and I also added 2 potatoes chopped into small pieces. I also only used about 1/4 of a jalapenjo as it was very hot and chicken stock rather than water. It was sooo good! We ate it as a stew with tortillas and it was very authentic tasting. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna&theboys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Good flavor - worth the wait. Made a wonderful stew, great burritos, tasty quesadillas, yummy enchiladas....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Hott Fischrup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States