Slow Cooker Guisado Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
EXCELLENT! I accidentally bought "pork for carnitas" - twice as much meat for the same price - and it was still delicious. With fresh tomatillos, Dos XX rather than water (suggested below), about a Tbsp of cumin, and a bag of frozen corn thrown in at the end (the sweetness is great with the tangy tomatillos!), it was really incredible. My first way to serve it was with the "baked tortilla chips" also from this site. I can't wait to have the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This is a tasty basic recipe, but I think it needs more to be an actual stew. I made it as directed, but afterwards wished I had thrown in some veggies or beans. We ate it as tacos with frijoles and cheese. I'll make it again, but will add more to serve as a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I doubled the meat by mistake with a pork shoulder blade roast, it was fine, but probably more tomatoes (I used tomatoes, couldn't find tomatillos, should have added lime juice to add tartness) would have been better to balance the additional meat. One jalapeno is plenty for medium heat even when I doubled the meat-to-pepper ratio (you can taste it, but it isn't persistent in your mouth). If you get a jalapeno burn when chopping up the pepper, by the way, the sour cream you need for this recipe does the trick. I tripled the garlic, but I like a lot of garlic. Recommend serving over brown rice, or with a big hunk of fresh bread. Of course, I made several significant departures from this recipe, so who knows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I loved this, my husband thought it was okay. I used chicken broth instead of water and a couple extra cloves of garlic. I will make it again for sure, next time around I will add an extra jalapeno. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I was also disappointed with this recipe. Maybe it would have been more exciting if I had also used salsa verde instead of the tomatillos called for in the recipe. As it was, after hours of anticipation, there was just nothing to get excited about. It went in the fridge to hide, knowing that it wasn't going to be touched again. I let it hide for two days, then resurrected it by adding a fresh can of chicken broth, 1/4 cup quinoa, a couple of diced potatoes, a few sliced carrots and for seasoning I added cumin and a ittle chipotle chili powder to give a nice smoky flavor. After a 30 minute simmer on the stove my crew ate this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Suprisingly enjoyed, used it as filling for burritos, even my 2 year old loved it, and my foodie sister raved. The only thing I altered was to decrease the jalapeno to 1, and made sure to season well with salt and pepper. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Somehow after all that cooking the tomatillos didn't shine through as much as I had hoped. It was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Very good and very easy to prepare. I omitted the water entirely and reduced the amount of salsa to one can. This makes a fabulous filling for fresh bakery roll, burrito, enchilada, taco, etc. Or, fry the leftovers in a skillet w/hot oil and serve with eggs for breakfast. Speaking of leftovers, this recipe freezes well for up to a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I didn’t know what to expect of this dish, but I love tomatillos, so I had to try it! First, I used 2 lbs of pork roast, what I had on hand. Store didn’t have canned tomatillos, so I used the Salsa Verde. Based on other reviews I used a 12oz bottle of beer in place of the water and also added two cans of white beans so I could eat it as a stew/soup. I let it cook on low for 8 hours, then shredded the pork and put back in the crockpot for about an hour. Turned out fantastic! I like my dishes spicy, so next time I’ll add some hot sauce or crushed red pepper, the japalenos didn’t make it spicy enough for my taste. Turned out great, can't wait to eat the leftovers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2010

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Delicious. My only change was to use 1 one pound pork tenderloins. This reduced the cooking time to 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States