Slow Cooker Guisado Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I made this for tacos for a party-- super delicious! Used pork shoulder, jarred Herdez salsa verde, as tomatillos aren't quite in season here, and most of a bottle of Corona. Drained off most of the liquid after cooking in slow cooker all day, and shredded the meat. Yum. Yum. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Swank
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Very good. I made a few changes to fit personal preferances, such as using a leaner cut, and left out the cilantro completely, and used no canned products but instead used all fresh ingredients. Tasted wonderful and even better when topped with a dash of sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Swank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I am rating this on the changes I made with other reviewer's suggestions. I used 3 pounds pork loin. Did not brown it first. I happened to have the tomatillo salsa, so add the chopped jalabeno. I substituted 12 oz beer for the water and did not add any more liquid. I also added about 5 tsp chopped garlic. My husband loved it and said to put it to the top of the rotations. I thought it lacked a little something. I think next time I will use the salsa verde with jalapeno as I could have used some subtle heat. There also was A LOT of liquid, even with only 12 oz added. The beer maybe added a strange taste, so next time I will use chicken stock and reduce it to 8 oz. It will be even better leftover, I think. Also plan to make pulled pork sandwiches. Definately a good recipe to play with. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
My wife puts this in her top 5. Like several others I used Salsa Verde since I couldn't find canned tomatillos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockyTrax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yankton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
we loved this!! served with rice and pinto beans and encouraged a "have it your way" style of eating. tortillas, cheese, sour cream, tomato, lettuce and avocado were offered. I ate mine as a soup/stew. the BH made little tacos with his. It was delicious and great fun. something to be filed under "PARTY FOOD" future reference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I omitted the seeds in the jalapenos, but wish I hadn't. It was a good dish, but I like it spicy! I will definitely make again and leave the seeds. It would be wonderful on a cold evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I liked it but it wasn't my favorite. It was nice to just leave it in the slow cooker. I will probably make again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was very good! I added 2 jalepinos but it was a bit too spicy for me so I took some out half way through. I also used a pork roast because pork shoulder sounded gross. Some of us ate it as stew, and some put it in a wrap. It was delish both ways. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I had fresh tomatillos I need to use so I used those rather than canned. The recipe was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sagemoon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe. I would recommend a leaner cut of meat and adding less water next time. Overall great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States