Slow Cooker Guisado Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This is a really awesome recipe. I added two cans of drained Northern beans and a cup and a half of long grain rice. I use two teaspoons cumin and two teaspoons of chili power in place of the spices the recipe called for. I also used chicken broth in place of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Stinnett-Junkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This dish was excellent on the day after I made it. At first I was not crazy about it. I used fresh tomatillos (I prefer to use fresh ingredients) The fresh tomatillos gave it almost a bitter taste, but by the second day the flavors blended together and the overbite was gone. I also used a goya chicken bullion packet and pork shoulder. The biggest suggestion I have is to use mexican oregano. You can find it in most markets, typically in a plastic baggie next to the dried peppers... the flavor of mexican oregano is a lot different than regular, and really adds authenticity to the dish. I served this with shredded montery jack, a dollop of sour cream. I fried up corn tortilla's, filling them with only avocado for dipping into the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I loved this, even though I was a little confused about the addition of the water. I used salsa verde in place of the tomatillos, etc... I added the water to the crock pot, which covered the pork shoulder but really dilluted the salsa verde mixture. It was very tender and tasted good. It just didn't have much of the salsa verde flavor. I used it to make quesadillas, and could add more salsa verde at that point. Don't know if I did something wrong, but it worked out OK for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I made this for tacos for a party-- super delicious! Used pork shoulder, jarred Herdez salsa verde, as tomatillos aren't quite in season here, and most of a bottle of Corona. Drained off most of the liquid after cooking in slow cooker all day, and shredded the meat. Yum. Yum. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Swank
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Very good. I made a few changes to fit personal preferances, such as using a leaner cut, and left out the cilantro completely, and used no canned products but instead used all fresh ingredients. Tasted wonderful and even better when topped with a dash of sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Swank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I am rating this on the changes I made with other reviewer's suggestions. I used 3 pounds pork loin. Did not brown it first. I happened to have the tomatillo salsa, so add the chopped jalabeno. I substituted 12 oz beer for the water and did not add any more liquid. I also added about 5 tsp chopped garlic. My husband loved it and said to put it to the top of the rotations. I thought it lacked a little something. I think next time I will use the salsa verde with jalapeno as I could have used some subtle heat. There also was A LOT of liquid, even with only 12 oz added. The beer maybe added a strange taste, so next time I will use chicken stock and reduce it to 8 oz. It will be even better leftover, I think. Also plan to make pulled pork sandwiches. Definately a good recipe to play with. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
My wife puts this in her top 5. Like several others I used Salsa Verde since I couldn't find canned tomatillos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockyTrax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yankton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
we loved this!! served with rice and pinto beans and encouraged a "have it your way" style of eating. tortillas, cheese, sour cream, tomato, lettuce and avocado were offered. I ate mine as a soup/stew. the BH made little tacos with his. It was delicious and great fun. something to be filed under "PARTY FOOD" future reference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I omitted the seeds in the jalapenos, but wish I hadn't. It was a good dish, but I like it spicy! I will definitely make again and leave the seeds. It would be wonderful on a cold evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I liked it but it wasn't my favorite. It was nice to just leave it in the slow cooker. I will probably make again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States