Slow Cooker Guisado Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I made this for a family gathering and even my 20 month old granddaughter loved it! I cooked it on the stove due to time constraints and only used 1 can of tomatillos. Other than that, I followed the recipe. Definitely a future go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
My husband loved this. He claimed we should open our own mexican restaurant. haha. I used fresh tomatillos b/c i couldn't find canned. I cooked it between 4 and 5 hours on low and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
It's still cooking away in the slow cooker, but I snuck a taste and WOW! I used chicken breasts, fresh tomatillos and instead of jalapenos I used a habanero because I like it spicy. I also used chicken broth, but only used 2 pints instead of a quart because I don't want it too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Fantastic ! I used just one jalapeño (unseeded) and threw in a chicken bullion cube with the water. Midway through the cook, I tasted the broth, told everyone to forget about this for dinner, TOO HOT. Went ahead and let it finish off and when I plated it, FANTASTIC. Not too hot, calmed right down. Absolutely one of the best dishes I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
We were hoping it would be like a nice, green chile stew, but the flavors just weren't there. You can't count on canned green chile for any flavor...gotta have the real deal--fresh and roasted! Anyway, it was an easy meal and it smelled really good all day...would probably be great for people with a blander palate, but we were hoping for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This was awesome. I used chicken broth instead of water and used one large jalapeno instead of two. I served it with shredded cheese and reduced fat sour cream, with arepas and yellow rice on the side. My version was too soup like for putting in a tortilla, but I imagine without (or with a lot less) water/broth it would be more of a filling. In any case it was lip smacking good and we hardly had any leftovers between my boyfriend and I since we stuffed ourselves. Will be making again...and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Fantastic, even for the kids! I used pork loin instead of shoulder and used fresh tomatillos instead of canned or jarred salsa verde to avoid the additives and preservatives. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I have a picky family, but we are usually good to try new Mexican recipes. Today I made this Guisado Verde using about 3# of a Boston Butt pork roast. I took the advice of a couple of the reviewers and used Herdes salsa verde (my favorite) instead of the tomatillos, chiles, etc. I also used chicken broth instead of water. I did not use jalapenos, because my wife and son are more "delicate" than I am. The roast stewed for about 6 or so hours, then I shredded it and cooked for another 30 minutes as I made some cilantro lime rice to serve as a side. I served it in my bowl with cheese and sour cream as a soup, with rice on the side. For the second bowl I served it over the rice. The flavor was really good, and my wife said she will eat it again; however, she prefers less liquid and more of a chile verde consistency. It is a great recipe to play around with, and I recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This turned out wonderful! I made it with two pounds of fresh tomatillos that I cooked down with 1.5 cups for water, garlic, salt and cilantro. I served it more like a caldo with corn tortillas in the bottom of a soup bowl. I did serve the caldo with a dollop of sour cream and the cheese! I also only used 1 jalapeno so kids would tolerate it! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I used fresh tomatillos and I'm not sure if those made the recipe too watery, or it just had too much liquid. It was still good, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States