Slow Cooker Guisado Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Yum! I was only able to find one can of tomatillos so I used some salsa verde with it. Soooo good!! Next time I'll have to try adding beer for the liquid as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Delish! Easy to make, cheap, and sooo good! Like some others suggested, I substituted a large jar of green salsa for the tomatillos and jalepenos. I also used broth, not water, and added 4 diced red potatoes. It was soooo good! Delicious served over rice with sour cream and jack cheese! We're planning to use the leftovers as enchilada filling/ sauce. Thank you for a great, easy, fast, super great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This was pretty good. I also added a couple of potatoes to make it more "stewy". I added several fresh jalapenos, I'll watch that next time as it made it really spicy. Seved it with mexican corn bread. Havent' decided if I'll make it again. It is very different, not in a bad way, but still very different. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I've made this twice and my husband and I both really like this recipe. I've never had anything quite like it. I use the Herdez salsa verde as well. I added potatoes the second time at my husband's request and it made it thicker for a stew. I like to serve it with simple cheese quesadillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Delicious! I made this with beef roast rather than pork, and I also added 2 potatoes chopped into small pieces. I also only used about 1/4 of a jalapenjo as it was very hot and chicken stock rather than water. It was sooo good! We ate it as a stew with tortillas and it was very authentic tasting. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna&theboys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Good flavor - worth the wait. Made a wonderful stew, great burritos, tasty quesadillas, yummy enchiladas....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Hott Fischrup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
We love this and it's SO easy! I used can salsa verde because I couldn't find canned tomatillos. I also used chicken broth instead of water. Will be making this very often. It's great to make soft tacos with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I used left over pork that I cooked in a slow cooker with mushrooms. I chopped it all up, put it in a sauce pan and used a bottle of salsa verde and chicken broth and garlic. I didnt put in the jalepenos because one of my sons cant handle hot food. It was very good. I will make this again sometime exactly how you are sapose to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
YUMM!! Just like my Mom's, but no potatoes. I followed the recipe, except used chicken broth in place of water. It could be a soup, add potatoes for stew, use meat for tacos, then make burritos. Very versatile and YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
OMG!!! I love, love, love this recipe!!!! I kinda added some of my own ingredients but it was sooooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamalucas03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States