Slow Cooker Guisado Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This is a very good recipe. I have made it 2 times and changed the following both times to make sure it was consistently wonderful. I used Boneless Pork Roasts(2 pack at my local store), inexpensive, lean and less waste. I used 1 1/2 to 2 pounds of Fresh Tomatillos, roasted on my bbq till soft and marked well. Used Vegetable Broth instead of water and Mexican Oregano. Other ingredients the same as recipe. I place pork on bottom of Slow Cooker, Everything else on top of pork. After cooking on high for 7 hrs in slow cooker, remove pork. Strain tomatillos, peppers, etc. Save the broth. Blend to make a beautiful Verde sauce, add broth to achieve the desired sauce consistency. Put pork back in broth to keep warm and moist till serving. I serve with roasted red or yellow potatoes. Can freeze leftover pork and sauce. I use leftover pork, reheated with some of the Verde sauce and broth and shred it to make Fried rolled taco's. It's all good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christineservando

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Oh MY GOSH! This is great! It smelled so good that when we served it up we forgot the sour cream and cheese... and didn't miss them! Fabulous recipe and so simple! I removed the seeds from the jalapeños but left the core and the heat seemed pretty moderate to me. Next time I'll try it with chicken broth, and maybe another time, I'll make it with chicken instead of pork... seems like that would work as well! Sort of a Latin version of coq-au-vin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
very good, almost too much meat, if that's possible. I would probably cut back to 1-1/2 lbs of meat. i was worried that with all that water, it'd be bland, but the flavors and the fat from the meat made for a real nice taste. also used only about 3 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Great recipe! Only thing I added was Knorr caldo de pollo (chicken bouillon). Didn't need anything more. Great flavor with a little kick. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This was delicious! I already had leftover shredded pork with garlic and onions, so I started with step 3 and made it on the stove top. I couldn't find canned tomatillos so I used fresh instead. I chopped them up and cooked them in just a bit of water until they were soft, then added the other ingredients. It took a little extra effort but it worked fine. We ate it over plain white rice with extra cilantro and monterey jack cheese. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
First I want to say a big thank you to Shel1986 for her suggestion to use Herdez brand Salsa Verde. For everyone who complained this recipe was bland next time add 8-16 oz of this Salsa Verde in your crockpot and watch your mouth explode with flavor at dinnertime. I substituted a bottle of Corona beer for the water. Second I omitted the tomatillos, green chiles, and jalapeno peppers and instead added 16 oz of Herdez Salsa Verde. I doubled the oregano to 2 tsp. I also added 2 T of fresh Key lime juice. (I kept the onions, cillantro, and garlic amounts as per the recipe). If you don't like super hot spicy then back down on the Salsa Verde and add it in 1/4 cup increments until you get the right level of heat for your personal preference. This pork had a complexity of flavors with the garlic, salsa verde, oregano, lime juice, cilantro, and onions. I'm not a big pork fan but this turned out to be the best pork recipe I've ever fixed. Forget the chipotle peppers in adobo sauce and find yourself some Herdez salsa verde instead. This recipe is a keeper. In fact I'm going to dig out a couple of more pork shoulders from the freezer to cook and freeze in smaller portions for making enchiladas, tacos, and burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Loved this recipe.. could use the left over pork so many ways! I did use veggie broth and 3 peppers. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I made this for a family gathering and even my 20 month old granddaughter loved it! I cooked it on the stove due to time constraints and only used 1 can of tomatillos. Other than that, I followed the recipe. Definitely a future go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
My husband loved this. He claimed we should open our own mexican restaurant. haha. I used fresh tomatillos b/c i couldn't find canned. I cooked it between 4 and 5 hours on low and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Make an amazing slow-cooked pork filling for tacos, enchiladas, and burritos.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States