Slow Cooker Guinness® Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Very disappointed. Followed the recipe exactly as instructed and the vegetables were extremely hard and undercooked. Needs much more time in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kben

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Everyone loved this dish! I added a little more broth and Guinness beer to the slow cooker as others suggested. Plus quartered the potatoes instead of halved to cook faster. Cooked on high for 5 hrs as others suggested as well. Will make this again! Great alternative to the traditional St. Patrick's Day meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Vegetables were completely undercooked, recipe tasted like flour. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
This was absolutely delicious and reheated beautifully. Just be careful, this is a HUGE recipe. I had to use less of almost everything so that I could fit it in my slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Friedman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Good but a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Pleased my picky brood! I was skeptical about using the Guinness, but it came out so great I won't make a beef stew without it now. I doubled the vegetables and broth but kept everything else the same. Even the kids were asking for second servings. And chuck is definitely the way to go! I've used bottom rounds for other stews, but I think the chuck is more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This is a very good recipe. I skipped the puff pastry and used a craft brewery stout from Seattle. I cubed up an eye of chuck. It is more tender and less grainy than regular chuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: East Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
My family loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Super delicious! The best slow cooker recipe yet. My modifications: Added 1/2 pound sliced mushrooms, dry fried at high heat just after meat was removed and just before onions were browned. Used same volume of potatoes but cut them in to halves and added to crock pot with browned onions, meat and carrots. Cooked on low for 8 hours - came out perfect, and much less hassle Left off puff pastry. It's delicious, but so unhealthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JulesMadison
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Delicious, simple and scrumptious comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States