Slow Cooker Guinness® Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Good but a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Pleased my picky brood! I was skeptical about using the Guinness, but it came out so great I won't make a beef stew without it now. I doubled the vegetables and broth but kept everything else the same. Even the kids were asking for second servings. And chuck is definitely the way to go! I've used bottom rounds for other stews, but I think the chuck is more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This is a very good recipe. I skipped the puff pastry and used a craft brewery stout from Seattle. I cubed up an eye of chuck. It is more tender and less grainy than regular chuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: East Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
My family loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Super delicious! The best slow cooker recipe yet. My modifications: Added 1/2 pound sliced mushrooms, dry fried at high heat just after meat was removed and just before onions were browned. Used same volume of potatoes but cut them in to halves and added to crock pot with browned onions, meat and carrots. Cooked on low for 8 hours - came out perfect, and much less hassle Left off puff pastry. It's delicious, but so unhealthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JulesMadison
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Delicious, simple and scrumptious comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Made it exactly as written. It's very easy, and the meat was tender. The rest was a little bland. Next time I'll tweak it with some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This recipe turned out great! I was half afraid to use the Guinness, but you couldn't even taste it in the end. My only complaint is that it took WAY longer to cook than stated, even though I followed the ingredients/directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Wonderful meal. I served it with sour bread fresh from the bakery. Reminds me of my time spent in Dublin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This was easy to make and made the house smell delicious. Even though I used small potatoes, it took much longer than the recipe stated to cook - close to 2 hours instead of 1. My husband loved this, but my daughter said the meat was weird but the sauce was delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States