Slow Cooker Ground Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This is a 5 with these changes: 1 can of Golden Mushroom soup instead od cream of mushroom, used chopped celery instead of celery flakes, 11.5 oz can V8, 1 can diced fire roasted tomatoes because that is what I had, extra garlic clove, 1 tube ea concentrated beef and vegetable broth flavor enhancer plus 2 cups hot water. I also used some chantrelle mushrooms; I would never use canned mushrooms. Yuck. I did use sherry. Did not use potatoes because I wanted to freeze leftovers. I think because I used the Golden mushroom soup it did not come out looking like dog food. I put the peas in about an hr before finished so they still looked bright green. Cooked on high for 4 hrs. Served with buttermilk biscuits and a slaw salad. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This was very good. We will make this one over and over. I made no changes and the flavor was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Great recipe! The flavour is amazing. I added more liquid as well (including a splash or two of red wine), and used sweet potatoes. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Great recipie. Our local Aldi has great deals on somewhat larger portions, so I had to go overboard on this one. They have 1 lb (16oz) bags of frozen corn and peas instead of 8 oz cans. They have 1lb 10oz (26oz) cans of Cream of Mushroom soup instead of the smaller cans. They have 1 QT 14 FL (46 FL) instead of the smaller cans of tomato juice. So I had to go big on this one. It works out great. I stay with the 1 lb ground beef. I use 1 cup Chicken or Beef bullion for the hot water to melt the frozen items and allows stirring. I have smaller sweet onions stead of larger White onions, so I use two. I also don't like to fry them with the Beef and smell up the whole house, so I cut them into the Slow Cooker and it works great. I have smaller potatoes so I use five or six. Then I use random spices that I have lying around. A1 sauce out the fridge. Basil. White and Black pepper. Maybe a little of five or six things I need to get rid of. Made this three times already. It's fantastic stuff. I start it at 10pm and night, and 6am when I wake up it's ready to rock. I usually have a hot bowl of beef stew for breakfast just because it smells so fantastic. I guess it's somewhat weird but what can you do. You have to have some right out of the pot. The rest goes into 16 oz freezer containers and usually makes 8 or 9 of those. It's a ton of good food. The volume of stock that goes into the pot it somewhat large. It goes right up to the very edge of the lid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Loved it and I made it not so ugly... I doubled the recipe and added a 1/2 tsp of paprika. I added the diced onion, garlic and paprika to the meat and formed it in to a giant patty. I cooked it 5 minutes on each side. After cooking, I cut in to 1" squares. It was not fully cooked but good enough to throw in the crock pot for eight hours. I also added two bay leaves to the pot because I add bay leaves to everything. Also, because I planned to freeze half of the recipe, I didn't add potatoes because their texture is ruined by freezing. Instead, I cooked a single serving and poured the stew over the cooked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I'm a terrible cook and this turned out amazing! I followed the recipe exactly as listed and was very pleased with the end result. My husband asked me to make it again in the near future. I think I'll add a cup or so of cooked chorizo next time just to change it up a bit. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Made a few modifications to our taste - stew beef chunks instead of ground beef, no corn or peas, and Italian seasoning . Delicious! Used dry sherry too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I really liked this recipe. Doubled the mushroom soup, V8 juice and cut up some celery and it tasted great. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Made for the family tonight (exactly as written). It was a HUGE hit. Great flavour, perfect amount of sauce. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This recipe is absolutely fabulous. I followed it exactly, but used my electric pressure cooker instead of a slow cooker. Twelve minutes and we had a wonderful meal. Thank you so much Love2BakeGirl. Submit more like this . Simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States