Slow Cooker Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
My own little flair: For some extra spice, I added four 4oz. cans of "hot green chiles", with 2 teaspoons of hot pepper sauce. Used pork loin that came with a mesquite flavoring. It all come together really well, even the sweet potato (which is what I assumed what meant by "yams").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Great flavor. Left out the corn, used tomatoes with green chillies (2 cans) and reduced tobasco to 2 tspn. Plenty of heat! Chunks of pork shredded at end when I tried to cut into smaller bite size portion and added additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I've made a very similar recipe for 45 years that's a family standard so this interested me. I love yams and am always looking for a new way to use them and this did the trick. The next time I make it I'll add a 15 oz. can of red beans and use the yellow hominy from my recipe in place of the corn. It's a wonderful cold weather recipe and I enjoyed Linz's use of pork as an alternative to the beef I use. Thanks for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Nummy stuff!! I'm gonna try a couple of the things that the others did the next times around. And yes, there will be many more times of making this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Didn't have a pork roast handy so I used 10 oz of chorizo and added diced potatoes. Used butternut squash instead of yams. What a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel Fitzhugh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Loved this!!! My whole family loved this stew. The only thing I changed was I used potatoes instead of yams as we don't eat yams, delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This is best chile verde recipe I have ever tried. I am not big on yams, though. So I added 5 fresh tomatillos instead. Did not add diced red tomatoes. Seems to have better flavor with green tomatoes -- just my opinion. My husband loves this dish and so do neighbors, as we like to share food. Thanks Linz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I added some avocado to the bowl when serving and it was delicious. Great addition to a good recipe. My sister loved it and asked for the recipe as soon as she tried it. I cooked it overnight on the 8 hour setting and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Rojek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Made this with a left over smoked pork tenderloin we had. I used gold Yukon potatoes instead of sweet potatoes and used only 1 can of diced chilies and added 1.5 cups of chicken broth. Cooked it on the stove for about 20 minutes. It was OUTSTANDING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Was a bit skeptical, but this turned out great! Used about 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth as suggested by others and used leftover grilled pork tenderloin. I also added a red bell pepper. My veggie hating husband and my three year old even approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States