Slow Cooker Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This is best chile verde recipe I have ever tried. I am not big on yams, though. So I added 5 fresh tomatillos instead. Did not add diced red tomatoes. Seems to have better flavor with green tomatoes -- just my opinion. My husband loves this dish and so do neighbors, as we like to share food. Thanks Linz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I added some avocado to the bowl when serving and it was delicious. Great addition to a good recipe. My sister loved it and asked for the recipe as soon as she tried it. I cooked it overnight on the 8 hour setting and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Rojek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Made this with a left over smoked pork tenderloin we had. I used gold Yukon potatoes instead of sweet potatoes and used only 1 can of diced chilies and added 1.5 cups of chicken broth. Cooked it on the stove for about 20 minutes. It was OUTSTANDING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Was a bit skeptical, but this turned out great! Used about 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth as suggested by others and used leftover grilled pork tenderloin. I also added a red bell pepper. My veggie hating husband and my three year old even approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Great flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was great. I modified by using 1 Lb of taco seasoned turkey, and 1 Lb of turkey sausage. I also added 1 15 Oz can of chicken broth to make it more of a soup. Served with sliced avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
It was just average. The concept looked great, loved the idea of Yams and corn. My husband doesn't want to eat it for leftovers. I wish it were good but I have to give it a thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Amazing! I followed the recipe and added a con of seasoned black eye peas drained. It is our new New Years meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I did tweak it a little used Tomatoes with Jalapenos about 1.5 tablespoons of Melinda's Habanero sauce also used 1/2 of a small Africa yam threw in some Goat meat also since I do not have a slow cooker I just put in on the stove top on low in a 4 qt pot for 12 hours. If you use Goat meat do not forget to remove the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I've made this several times and we love it! I happened to have hot frozen green chile from Costco and I probably used a little more than called for in the recipe. I used a whole onion and 3 sweet potatoes, so added a little of my homemade veggie stock. My house smells sooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States