Slow Cooker Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I recently made this stew. My daughter purchased a pork shoulder roast so I had to work with that cut. After a bit of trimming, I had pretty pieces of meat. I took the advice of several other reviewers and browned the meat and onions. I also added chicken broth. I added 1/2 of the yams because I was fearful that they would cook faster than the meat. They did. So I added the remaining yams after 4 hours. The meat cooked to incredible tenderness. The stew was delicious. We can't wait to make it again. This is a great recipe. Thanks Linz. Sharon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Belz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made this recipe as is, but I cooked it with a big handful of chopped cilantro. In my opinion, adding a can of broth would make this soupier than necessary. I served this over rice and it had a nice amount of liquid to wet the rice a bit. I made a traditional Spanish rice. I also put a bit of fresh cilantro and chopped green onions on top when I served it. Vey excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I made this with butternut squash instead of yams, and used the Moroccan spice Ras al Hanout instead of thyme. It was amazing--a combo of heat and spice that seemed just right to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I just made this stew and it smelled so heavenly all day!! I added chicken broth and instead of yams, I added Yukon gold potatoes, and the diced tomatoes were Fire Roasted Diced tomatoes. I also added about 1/2 jar of Green Chile Sauce. So delicious!! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Made this the other night and it came out great. Made a few changes on the recipe just to spice it up a little bit. Took 1 1/2 lbs chicken and 1 lbs pork and sauted them with the onions and garlic in a saute pan. Seasoned this mixture with fresh ground black and cayanne pepper. Once the pork and chicken were lightly browned I deglaced the pan with white wine and reduced by 1/2. Added this mixture to the slow cooker with the remainder of the ingredients plus 1 14oz can of chicken stock and another sprinkle of cayanne on top. Turned out great and added an extra layer to the flavors of this chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Absolutely wonderful. A great winter stew/soup. I really wish people would criticize the actual recipe. This didn't claim to be a "New Mexican" chili, and to give it one star based on that just seems wrong. I don't even want to discuss Dogg's review. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
this is really really good. here's some changes/subs that i used: added 2 cans of fire-roasted tomatoes instead of 1; threw in 1/2c jim beam; about 1/4c open pit; 1tsp chipotle tabasco; butternut squash cubes instead of sweet potatoes; threw in a bunch of beet greens that were going to go to waste. tastes awesome. this recipe is very amenable to wacky switch-ups based on what you've got on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Delicious! I didn't have a slow cooker so I just put everything in a Dutch oven, brought it to a high temperature, then reduced the heat to simmer. It was ready in about 3 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
So easy and tasted excellent! I followed another reviewer by adding more liquid (1.5 cups of water) to make it more soup like. Will be sharing this recipe with loved ones~thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I don't eat pork so I did a combo of chicken & turkey breast. Came out good but I would shorten the cooking time & add a bit more spice to the mix, I did add the can of chicken broth that was recommended in an earlier review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States