Slow Cooker Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
It was just average. The concept looked great, loved the idea of Yams and corn. My husband doesn't want to eat it for leftovers. I wish it were good but I have to give it a thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Amazing! I followed the recipe and added a con of seasoned black eye peas drained. It is our new New Years meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I did tweak it a little used Tomatoes with Jalapenos about 1.5 tablespoons of Melinda's Habanero sauce also used 1/2 of a small Africa yam threw in some Goat meat also since I do not have a slow cooker I just put in on the stove top on low in a 4 qt pot for 12 hours. If you use Goat meat do not forget to remove the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I've made this several times and we love it! I happened to have hot frozen green chile from Costco and I probably used a little more than called for in the recipe. I used a whole onion and 3 sweet potatoes, so added a little of my homemade veggie stock. My house smells sooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Duffin Larson

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Yum! I used one can of hot peppers and one of mild. It was a great balance of flavor and heat, as well as the sweetness added by the yams and corn. I might try hominy instead of corn in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Great recipe! The hardest part was dicing up the pork roast which would have been easy if my knife had been sharper. I would add more hot sauce or a hotter pepper for some extra flavor next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I don't eat pork so I did a combo of chicken & turkey breast. Came out good but I would shorten the cooking time & add a bit more spice to the mix, I did add the can of chicken broth that was recommended in an earlier review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made this recipe as is, but I cooked it with a big handful of chopped cilantro. In my opinion, adding a can of broth would make this soupier than necessary. I served this over rice and it had a nice amount of liquid to wet the rice a bit. I made a traditional Spanish rice. I also put a bit of fresh cilantro and chopped green onions on top when I served it. Vey excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I recently made this stew. My daughter purchased a pork shoulder roast so I had to work with that cut. After a bit of trimming, I had pretty pieces of meat. I took the advice of several other reviewers and browned the meat and onions. I also added chicken broth. I added 1/2 of the yams because I was fearful that they would cook faster than the meat. They did. So I added the remaining yams after 4 hours. The meat cooked to incredible tenderness. The stew was delicious. We can't wait to make it again. This is a great recipe. Thanks Linz. Sharon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Belz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
So easy and tasted excellent! I followed another reviewer by adding more liquid (1.5 cups of water) to make it more soup like. Will be sharing this recipe with loved ones~thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States