Slow Cooker Green Beans, Ham and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
Excellent flavor. I may also try these on the stovetop when I'm in a hurry and want them more quickly. For better time approximation, it took at least 2 hrs. for the mixture to reach the simmering point (Step 2), and I found that the potatoes needed longer than 45 minutes to become tender (Step 3) (I cooked them for 1 1/2 hrs.)However, my Crockpot didn't have a "medium" setting, it only has "high" and "low", so this might have made the diference. The green beans were still a bit firm/crispy - don't expect them to be soft like canned green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Fabulous! I didn't have time to use the slow cooker so I put them on the stove and cooked them for 25 minutes and then added the potatoes for another 35 minutes. The only other change I made was I added red onion as I had some left over from a salad I made. These are the best green beans I have ever tasted. Even my finicky 11 year old ate them. Thanks Sharon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Wonderful flavor! I added a few more potatoes than was called for. As I do not have a medium setting, I had to switch to low and cook longer. I actually left my cooker on for 8 hours and it was delicious, however the beans were not crispy. My family loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
The best green bean recipe ever! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
This is an excellent family friendly recipe...however I used some smoked sausage instead of ham and everyone asked for seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
Just like Grandma's!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sullivan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
Someone asked me for my Grandma's recipe for Green Bean Casserole, although I cook it on the stove this is just about the closest to it I've seen, I cook it a long time, the beans aren't crispy, but everyone's favorite. I just make it, so this is the recipe I'm handing out when I'm asked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
My husband and I loved this dish. Our two kids didn't, that could be that it didn't contain any form of suger. I added carrots. I will make this again. The kids will eat mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
Delicious with a country flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2002
I thought this recipe was the greatest soul food recipe for greenbeans. I can't beleive it was so easy and tasteful. Thanks! for thinking about everybodys taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States