Slow Cooker Green Beans, Ham and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2002
I thought this recipe was the greatest soul food recipe for greenbeans. I can't beleive it was so easy and tasteful. Thanks! for thinking about everybodys taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
Excellent flavor. I may also try these on the stovetop when I'm in a hurry and want them more quickly. For better time approximation, it took at least 2 hrs. for the mixture to reach the simmering point (Step 2), and I found that the potatoes needed longer than 45 minutes to become tender (Step 3) (I cooked them for 1 1/2 hrs.)However, my Crockpot didn't have a "medium" setting, it only has "high" and "low", so this might have made the diference. The green beans were still a bit firm/crispy - don't expect them to be soft like canned green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Wonderful flavor! I added a few more potatoes than was called for. As I do not have a medium setting, I had to switch to low and cook longer. I actually left my cooker on for 8 hours and it was delicious, however the beans were not crispy. My family loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
Someone asked me for my Grandma's recipe for Green Bean Casserole, although I cook it on the stove this is just about the closest to it I've seen, I cook it a long time, the beans aren't crispy, but everyone's favorite. I just make it, so this is the recipe I'm handing out when I'm asked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Fabulous! I didn't have time to use the slow cooker so I put them on the stove and cooked them for 25 minutes and then added the potatoes for another 35 minutes. The only other change I made was I added red onion as I had some left over from a salad I made. These are the best green beans I have ever tasted. Even my finicky 11 year old ate them. Thanks Sharon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
The best green bean recipe ever! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
This is an excellent family friendly recipe...however I used some smoked sausage instead of ham and everyone asked for seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
Just like Grandma's!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sullivan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
My husband and I loved this dish. Our two kids didn't, that could be that it didn't contain any form of suger. I added carrots. I will make this again. The kids will eat mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
Delicious with a country flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States