Slow Cooker Green Beans, Ham and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Delish! I actually cooked these on the stove instead of in the slow cooker, about 2 hrs on medium heat. Turned our very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I do not care for Ham hocks so I cut up cubes of ham instead and I used a big thing of chicken broth instead of bouillon grandules. My mom used to make this when I was younger and I have to say this recipe taste even better than I remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This is a great basic recipe - a lot like my favorite dish my mom makes. BUT, I'd definitely recommend adding a chopped ham steak in, as I could barely get any meat off of the ham hocks (maybe it was just the ones I got?) and more salt and seasonings to give it more flavor. The green beans and potatoes were both cooked perfectly when cooked as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Just like mom used to make! What a delicious dish. Used two ham hocks and added some bite size pieces of ham. Other than the bouillon didn't add any seasoning and it was perfect. I haven't tried to cook this for a long time because my attempts were bland. Thanks for sharing your recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This is a quicker way to make what Mom used to make & it delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
4 stars because I had to modify. I users yellow onion and 3 gloves of garlic instead of powders. I used a good quality bacon and cut into chunks. I used chicken broth instead of the boullion. We ate almost the whole pot. This is a keeper for sure!! Can't wait to make again with buttermilk cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
It was more or less a failure for me as I took "ham hocks" literally. The ones I got ended up having NO meat on them at all, and I think I'll end up with nothing but oily beans... Still in the cooker with most of the fat cut off the hocks, and the bones put back. Maybe it could be rescued by saving the beans & broth and getting some ham chunks (as others have said) and re-heating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This was really good. My husband hates all cooked veggies but after he ate this he told me it was a hit and then admitted he was only going to eat it (covered in hot sauce) to humor me. But he liked it so much he has requested it be made again! I did add bay leaves and rosemary and used a ham steak rather than ham hocks. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Globe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This was good! My 2 year old loved it! I did throw everything in at once and the green beans and ham were frozen. I also threw in a bag of frozen okra and a sprig of fresh rosemary and cooked on low for 10 hours. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I was surprised and how the flavors from each food did not seem to cross into each other and create some sort of stew-like creation. What you get at the end of the recipe is Ham, Potatoes, and Beans---but cooked all together to reduce having to wash excess pots/pans! My family enjoyed this recipe, and i will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States