Slow Cooker Green Beans, Ham and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Very good and so simple. Thanks for sharing the recipe. We always serve with a good sprinkling of cider vinegar over, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I've been serving this for years and it is always a winner. Here's something that I've found that takes it from "okay-good" to "perfect": add a very generous teaspoon of country Dijon mustard toward the end...when you are cooking the potatoes. Be sure to use new, or red or white potatoes; russets will fall apart with too much cooking or reheating. If using ham hocks (which are fatty) try cooking them alone (in the slow cooker), strain meat, keeping the broth, allow broth to cool and remove the fat on top. Now add cut ham pieces, potatoes and green beans to the broth in a large pot, and gently boil until beans & potatoes are tender. Ham slices are faster (cook at least two, cut in 1" squares) less fatty and just as delicious, with less work than skimming fat from hocks. Which ever you choose, don't forget the country Dijon! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TartanSongbird007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Not sure how anyone could give this a bad review. It's a basic, easy recipe that yields delicious results. Not fancy but everyone loves it. I usually make these on the stovetop and have added ham, ham hocks, smoked turkey legs, bacon, and even kielbasa - all are equally tasty. I think adding more salt than this recipe requires is key, but then again the poster DID say she kind of just throws stuff in there which is what I also do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I make this often with smoked sausage and it's delicious. I usually throw everything in a dutch oven and simmer on the stove top. We like to eat it with some skillet cornbread and sweet tea. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This is a family favorite I've modified a little. Instead of ham hocks, I use a large chunk of ham with the bone and 2 cans of green beans (fresh aren't always available in winter). I put the ham, beans, and potatoes in the crock and let it cook on low for 6-8 hours. Makes an easy, economical meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
i have made this quite a few times ,but instead of ham hock's i use a smoked shoulder and let it simmer all day until the meat falls off the bone ..don't add potatoes and green bean's until the last hour of cooking ..so good on a cool day !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Secret - Add a cup of left over black coffee from this morning and it will be just like my mom use to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This sounded like a delicious meal, but what's the point of a crockpot recipe if you have to keep attending to it? The crockpot was designed, I thought, for those of us who want a home-cooked meal when we get home from work, a meal that cannot be tended to from time-to-time all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Rather average. A simple supper, not exciting. I've had better of each major ingredient. It's okay for todayl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I used Russet potatoes and they took a bit longer to cook, but this recipe was easy and tasty! I also didn't use ham hocks, but rather a boneless chunk of ham, diced up. I'd definitely make this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Thompson Reyelts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States