Slow Cooker Green Beans, Ham and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Boiled a VERY LARGE ham hock for about three hours before going to bed. Refrigerated it until the next evening when I skimmed off the fat and removed the bones. Put the potatoes in, added some onion and garlic powder. Green beans were over $3 a pound so just used frozen. Added these when the potatoes were almost cooked. Added a couple tablespoons of vinegar, and a tablespoon of brown sugar at the suggestion of other reviewers. I honestly did not expect my son or husband to like this. They LOVED it! Both dubbed this recipe as a definite keeper. And by refrigerating it overnight, there was very little fat in the dish, but all the flavor. Good Eats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaNae Gibbs Cottam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Loved this. I used frozen green beans and added some bacon. All my family and friend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This is my go to recipe for green beans and ham. I use 1 ham hock and a cup or two of diced ham. And use a little more of the seasonings than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Meh. Nothing special about this one. My husband, who loves these things asked me not to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This is a pennsylvania dutch recipe. Cooking it as we speak without a crockpot. I get a large pot, put a honey baked ham bone in with water. Let it come to a boil, then add 1 large sliced onion after reducing the heat to low. I let it simmer for two hours, remove the meat from the bone and add three lbs. of beans whole (ends snipped) with some pepper (one hour). At the end I cook enough potato's seperately for the amount we will eat. No after dinner milky juice left in the pot that way. Leftovers potato's cooked seperatly again. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was loved by everyone who tasted it....Easy, breezy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This dish was good, but not as good as I had hoped and expected. It was easy to prepare, especially since I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and just threw it all into the crock pot. But having done that, I can see now why it might turn out better if done in stages. In the time it took to cook the beans to some degree of tenderness (about 6 hours at a medium temperature), my potatoes over-cooked to the point that they were falling apart. I used some leftover ham, and it, too, over-cooked, becoming slightly rubbery and turning an unappetizing shade of grey. Also, I thought the recipe needed 2 or 3 times the amount of seasoning recommended. Will I make this again? Maybe...but if I do I'll make it on the stove where I can have more control over what cooks for how long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I used smoked turkey instead of ham as well as a clove of garlic. I love this recipe, very good. The only thing I did was.... I was not home in time to add my potatoes! dang it! oh well next time. I am just going to make some hot water cornbread and enjoy me smoked turkey and beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I changed this recipe so much that it's entirely different and WOW it's wonderful. This was a great starting point. I'm going to try to get my submitted here. Thanks GrammyRose
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Santa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
My whole family loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States