Slow Cooker Green Beans, Ham and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This is my go to recipe for green beans and ham. I use 1 ham hock and a cup or two of diced ham. And use a little more of the seasonings than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Meh. Nothing special about this one. My husband, who loves these things asked me not to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This is a pennsylvania dutch recipe. Cooking it as we speak without a crockpot. I get a large pot, put a honey baked ham bone in with water. Let it come to a boil, then add 1 large sliced onion after reducing the heat to low. I let it simmer for two hours, remove the meat from the bone and add three lbs. of beans whole (ends snipped) with some pepper (one hour). At the end I cook enough potato's seperately for the amount we will eat. No after dinner milky juice left in the pot that way. Leftovers potato's cooked seperatly again. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was loved by everyone who tasted it....Easy, breezy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This dish was good, but not as good as I had hoped and expected. It was easy to prepare, especially since I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and just threw it all into the crock pot. But having done that, I can see now why it might turn out better if done in stages. In the time it took to cook the beans to some degree of tenderness (about 6 hours at a medium temperature), my potatoes over-cooked to the point that they were falling apart. I used some leftover ham, and it, too, over-cooked, becoming slightly rubbery and turning an unappetizing shade of grey. Also, I thought the recipe needed 2 or 3 times the amount of seasoning recommended. Will I make this again? Maybe...but if I do I'll make it on the stove where I can have more control over what cooks for how long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I used smoked turkey instead of ham as well as a clove of garlic. I love this recipe, very good. The only thing I did was.... I was not home in time to add my potatoes! dang it! oh well next time. I am just going to make some hot water cornbread and enjoy me smoked turkey and beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I changed this recipe so much that it's entirely different and WOW it's wonderful. This was a great starting point. I'm going to try to get my submitted here. Thanks GrammyRose
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Santa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
My whole family loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Mmm,mmm,mmm ~ You just can't go wrong with this recipe. Followed as directed, only adding some cubed ham at the end. My husband and son were so busy eating that there wasn't much conversation at dinner. Will definitely make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
yummy recipe the way it is, I prefer using shanks instead of hocks and put in everything at once, we all come back for more !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States