Slow Cooker Green Beans, Ham and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I use beer and chicken broth 1/2 & 1/2 I'll also add canned whole tomatoes, my dad called them hillbilly beans. We also add double smoked bacon chunks because the ham hocks are sometimes overly fatty. I prefer red onions, my wife likes the Spanish. My teenager don't care, it's FOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edward Maltba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
The beans were very bland and still had to much of a bite to them. The potatoes cooked and were done prior to the beans. I even pulled the potatoes out and tried to finish the beans on top of the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vemfinger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
I bring this to work for potlucks. I use chicken broth instead of water and the granules. I have also used canned green beans with great results. I throw everything in together, including potatoes (red potatoes) and let it go. It's a great taste of home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I LOVED this recipe! 1) It was VERY tasty. The only thing different I added was a little olive oil and some fresh [crushed] garlic (I skipped the onion powder since I already added real onions). 2) I used fresh beans so you could tell the difference (in freshness). 3) I also added in MORE meat (Pork, shoulder) which made it very much more meaty (Good). 4) I also added more "Pork" flavoring (called "Goya" pork flavoring).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Hated this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I have made this over and over again! I make it on the stove not the slow cooker. A huge hit! EVERYONE loves it. I also have a hard time finding ham hocks, so I use ham shanks. I am also born and raised in Pa. Where this is a Pennsylvania Dutch favorite....I have to admit it's the best I've ever had. Now I tell all of my extended family, I make the best ham and green beans thanks to this recepie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Nice dish. Would make a hearty side dish, or even a main course, which is how I had it. Goes good with some cornbread or sourdough rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This is SO good!! I will never use another recipe again! I made only slight variations but I'm sure the original is fine too. I used a leftover ham bone and meat from a picnic ham. I also put some of the skin/fat from that ham on top of this while it was cooking. Added a tablespoon of white sugar as some recipes call for. Cooked it all at once on low for 8 hours I think. Some might find the beans too mushy when cooking that long but I like mine that way. THANK YOU FOR THIS! Have tried so many and they just were not good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Yummy! 6 hours in the crockpot worked for me, the beans and potatoes were done, and not mushy. I thickened up some of the cooking liquid for gravy and served with corn bread. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Delicious! Took longer than it said but was worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States