Slow Cooker German-Style Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I have been making this the exact same way for years and always comes out great. Point is to make sure that the pork stays in the "juice." I always put my roast in frozen so maybe that makes the extra liquid needed to keep the pork moist. My family loves this. Sometimes we even add potatoes to the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Avon Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
If you want real Bavarian flavor, you have to brown the seasoned roast/pork ribs on all sides before adding to the Sauerkraut. It locks in the juices and flavor.You can use the broiler to do this. Add the drippings also to the Kraut. No garlic please !!!. You can grate an apple and add it to sweeten the Sauerkraut. Bayleafs (1 or 2) are a must and so are the pepper corns and Karaway seeds. If the Sauerkraut is to vinegary, rinse it until you have the desired flavor or just simply add an extra can of water. Remember, the longer you cook it, the better the taste. Every one loves my Sauerkraut...Happy cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I actually learned to make this when working for a roofing company in South FL at a "tar kettle" cook off. I use 2 bags of kraut and it keeps the pork tender and juicy. As my DH doesn't eat kraut I wrap the pok loin in cheese cloth so it isn't "contaminated" - silly man eats the pork and potatos like there is no tomorrow! I don't add anything other that the pork, potatos and kraut. The juice and pork season each other nicely and don't really require anything else. And 8 hours is about the right time (for my slow cooker anyway). Darn, now I'll have to make this sometime this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Cooked this on low for 8 hrs. (minimum time stated)and the pork was dry and overcooked - when I tried to slice it, it shredded into threads and fell apart. The pork was virtually flavorless. I thought about making it again with more seasonings for flavor and reducing the cooking time, but 8 hrs. seemed absolutely perfect for the potatoes - they were not mushy/overcooked so reducing the cooking time might cause undercooked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This was perfect! I subbed red potatoes (with skin) for the white peeled potatoes and am still amazed that such an effortless dish came out so incredibly delicious. The pork was so moist it was falling apart, the potatoes were soft but not mushy, I will be making this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I read most of the reviews and there were complaints of the roast being dry after cooking. I added a can of chicken broth, and it was very moist. I also added a little onion and that gave it some more flavor. My bf love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
My mom used to make the pork in a pressure cooker - this is now my preferred method! I like to use boneless country-style pork ribs (goes on sale at Safeway a lot). This is the part I feel passionately about - DO NOT PUT THE KRAUT IN UNTIL CLOSE TO THE END. I hate kraut that's been pulverized to mush. I poured in the brine at the beginning of cooking, putting in the kraut 1hr before the finish just until it warmed. The meat/potatoes do taste better after it's had time to sit with the kraut, but you really don't want to cook it that long together. Things I feel less strongly about: Try fooling with the amount of caraway - I like it more subtle, around 1t. Try a bit of apple cider vinegar to brighten it if you need. Try searing the meat before you put it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This almost the same receipe my mother used to make when I was growing up. I remember is fondly. Only difference is we didn't have slower cookers in those days. I will make this today,leaving out caraway seeds and browing meat before cooking. Thanks for the receipe. It brings back great memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I grew up eating pork ‘n kraut and have cooked it using all kinds of different methods. It's important to know how your crock pot cooks when it comes to cooking meat. This particular recipe calls for an 8 – 10hr cook time. That works great if I’m using my 30+yr old crock pot, but my 2yr old crock pot will have this done in 4 hours because it cooks 10x hotter than my old one. If there is one thing you don’t want to do, that is over cook a pork loin because it gets really, really dry if it’s overcooked. Another option to consider would be to use a pork butt roast. It gets tender and juicy the longer it cooks and isn’t as easy to overcook as a loin roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I am rarely disappointed in my Allrecipes recipe but this one was terrible. It had no taste although I salted, peppered, used onion powder and garlic salt. The meat was dry and although the potatoes held their shape, they were very close to inedible. If I were critiqueing this recipe, I would anticipate that the sauerkraut liquid was overwhelming. This recipe is going in the trash can
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stoutsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States