Slow Cooker German-Style Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I haven't tried this recipe yet, but it's pretty much the same one my mom made for yrs. if your roast is dry then you didn't have enough liquid. And I would add 1/2 the Kraut in at the beginning and other half at the end. I don't think my mom used minced garlic, just garlic salt, caraway seeds etc..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This was fantastic -- tasted like a slow cooker reuben! Goes on my short list of easy, tasty crock recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D-Man and Pivo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I took someone's advice and seared the roast first. This is delicious! Tender, juicy... I've been eating it every day since making it, and I'm not sick of it yet. And I don't even like sauerkraut. I ended up draining the sauerkraut and putting in roughly the same amount of apple juice. I also omitted the garlic. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This was delicious. Even my husband who turns his nose up at the often dry crock pot roasts raved about this one. I used a 24 oz jar of sauerkraut because that is what I had. I did not measure the caraway seeds, just sprinkled them over the top of the kraut. Moist and tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Hi Diane!! Let me tell you my dear, this was absolutely fantastic!! You know me; not a big meat eater but I adored this recipe of yours. I did add carrots per my future SIL's request and of course my usual garlic and onion powders. So yum and thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Good and easy. My review can't be very accurate because I did not follow the recipe well. My boyfriend would have liked the taste of the sauerkraut but I worried it would be too much for my parents, so I only used 28 oz jar. Because there were 6 people going to eat I used 10 small potatos (red and yellow, were done perfect around the 8 hour mark) So then I worried that the pork was going to dry out because it did not look like enough liquid. I added water at first would would have been okay I think if I just used more sayerkraut but it was still not enough for me so I put some chicken broth in it. I think this was my big mistake. The pork came out tnder and would have been great if it didn't taste like chicken. Maybe some veg broth or like the recipe says more sauerkraut would have been great. I will try this again, but not for a while. Also, the seeds are a must, and I suggest more seasoning becuase it was a bit bland besides tasting like chicken. 4 stars because it can be as easy as you want it to be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I've never been able to cook a kraut casserole to my liking, until now. I made this with a pork butt roast, seasoned w/ salt, pepper, MSG, garlic & onion powers. I seasoned the kraut with 1 t. caraway seeds, 1 sliced onion, 2 bay leaves & a large pinch of celery seeds. The result was very moist & flavorful, I loved it. Next time I will double the kraut because it was my favorite part. I like this with mashed potatoes. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Cooked this on low for 8 hrs. (minimum time stated)and the pork was dry and overcooked - when I tried to slice it, it fell apart. We tried to eat it but it all went in the garbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Really really tasty...omitted the caraway seeds and used Honey Gold Potatoes. First time having sauerkraut and it was really good with the pork and potatoes. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Very good. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States