Slow Cooker German-Style Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I really liked this recipe but it wasn't perfect for me. I LOVED the flavor of the caraway seeds! I did make minor changes such as: I used yukon baking potatoes that I peeled and halved which was absolutely perfect; and I used a bone-in pork roast because boneless pork loins get way too dry. Next time I'd double the sauerkraut and replace the garlic with onion. I read another recipe that called for some butter to help cut the acidity of the sauerkraut so I may do that next time too. But, really, those are personal preferences. This recipe is still really good as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candy2k
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This was wonderful. I have a new crockpot so as listed by other reviews I did not cook it as long. The roast was done in 4 1/2 hours. The kraut is so wonderful. I used Bavarian sauerkraut, and had regular I put in too. I did add the apple to it and a small amt of brown sugar. I'll never make it any other way now. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Sear the roast first on all sides. Drain the kraut and add a can of beer instead. Also add a sliced peeled apple to the kraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Thorne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Wow. Wow. Wow. Absolutely loved it. I used homemade sauerkraut and I didn't have caraway seeds in either the sauerkraut nor the pork, but the first bite shocked me with great flavor that I totally didn't expect, it is simply amazing. I served it with toasted bread and that made my day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Wonderful combination of flavors. Even my 'anti-kraut' family really liked it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bandon, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
AMAZING!!! I added one sweet potatoe cut into 1" round thickness and I braised the pork in olive oil to brown all sides then added the minced garlic just before putting it all on top of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Great base recipe to nake your own! I wanted this dish now and didnt want to wait 8 hrs for it to cook so I did it stove top. I used a large pot and tore the tenderloin, by hand, into rough forkable pieces. I didnt habe any garlic and left out the potatoes. So I put the sauerkraut and pork tenderloin pieces into the pot together, added the caraway and cooked covered on medium low to low heat for about an hour stirring occasionally amaking sure all the pork pieces were mostly submerged in the liquid when I wasn't stirring it. Towards the end I added some dark brown sugar to cut the tartness to my own taste. I was looking for this recipe with caraway in particular because my polish grandma on my fathers side makes it with the caraway and authentic polish kielbasa every year for Thanksgiving and I wanted to learn to make it myself. Also my grandma on my mothers side makes it with pork and lots of brown sugar so its super sweet with no caraway. I love them both so I added a little bit of each family recipe into my own new one. The pork was super tender and juicy and was the perfect amount of caraway. I probably only added about 2 tbsp of brown sugar just to level out the tartness. Thanks for this great recipe to inspire a new family recipe of my own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I have made this many times using a frozen pork loin, do not drain the kraut and add about 3 Tbsp brown sugar. I sometimes add a chopped green apple. Sliced onions are a nice addition also. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Great recipe! I added a little brown sugar and a dash of cider vinegar as the comments said and it came out AMAZING. I cooked the potatoes separate since I didn't have enough room in my crock pot. I took mine out after 6.5 hours and it was perfect, if I'd waited 8 hrs it may have fallen apart too much. I think it depends on the cut of meat probably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
My families New Year's traditional meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FreshPrincessDi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States