Slow Cooker German-Style Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
My boyfriend and I did not like this. I followed the recipe as directed, there was hardly any flavor in this dish. It tastes like it's missing something. Highly doubt I will ever make this again. If I do, I would not add all the sauerkraut in the beginning. I would probably do half the sauerkraut, all the juice, and add the rest of the sauerkraut a few minutes before serving to heat it up. The one thing we did like was the potatoes. They tasted really well being cooked in the sauerkraut juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Delicious! My husband and I "pigged" out. I used red potatoes since it was what I had and it turned out wonderfully. No problem with being too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
4 stars cooked for 8 hours pork was 180 but not was not tender. tough and rubberry. cut roast in 4 smaller pcs and returned to crock pot to cook for another 2 hours. i tasted the pork and it was excellant. dont know why was tought and rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Made this last night. It was very good. I sliced the potatoes into thin slices, and did not use garlic. I did season the pork roast w/ garlic pepper/ salt/ and thyme. I used Bavarian Kraut and left out the caraway seeds as they are already in the kraut. Put it on at about 9AM and we ate at 5:30. Pork was amazingly tender as were the potatoes. Very good!! Next time I will add some baby carrots also. Easy and good! Leftovers, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris K in Wisconsin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sauk City, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Left the potatoes out but followed the recipe in every other way. It was Wonderful! Meat was juicy and so tender it almost made a knife "optional". Will be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
loved this dish. My nephew loved it and he was sworn against it! I did modify it by pouring a 1/2 cup of vinegar over while cooking and it was delish! Don't forget to top the kraut with apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
My mom used to make the pork in a pressure cooker - this is now my preferred method! I like to use boneless country-style pork ribs (goes on sale at Safeway a lot). This is the part I feel passionately about - DO NOT PUT THE KRAUT IN UNTIL CLOSE TO THE END. I hate kraut that's been pulverized to mush. I poured in the brine at the beginning of cooking, putting in the kraut 1hr before the finish just until it warmed. The meat/potatoes do taste better after it's had time to sit with the kraut, but you really don't want to cook it that long together. Things I feel less strongly about: Try fooling with the amount of caraway - I like it more subtle, around 1t. Try a bit of apple cider vinegar to brighten it if you need. Try searing the meat before you put it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Really good!! Everyone loved it and wants it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Fabulous comfort food! I didn't have caraway seeds, but I did use Polish kraut which has them in it. I sauteed a large onion in light butter and threw that in also. This was so good I can't wait for it to be cold so I can make it again, the whole family loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michellejo3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States