Slow Cooker German-Style Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Very good. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I've been making this for years because it's so easy and so good! My husband prefers using sauerkraut that comes in a jar because the flavor just seems to be better. Depending on how big your slow cooker is...and the amount of pork you're cooking...you can use up to two jars. (Use the large jars that hold the same amount of sauerkraut that the large cans do). If you want a milder sauerkraut flavor, however, cut your sauerkraut liquid in half and add water for that other half, instead. Or just use the sauerkraut and water...no sauerkraut liquid at all. Believe me, the flavor will still be there. Make sure your pork is almost completely covered by the liquid you've put in. This way it will be moist and just fall apart when it's done! I love the carraway seeds but if you don't have any, don't worry...salt and pepper works just fine! (Add an onion or a bit of garlic or even Pickling Spice if you're in the mood for them but they're not really necessary). You can also add a level teaspoon or two of regular sugar (or a half-packet to one packet of Sweet N Low) if you find the liquid to be a bit too tart or bitter for your tastebuds. Then add your potatoes when the pork seems to be about half done. I like to wait until the meat is falling off the bone before telling my husband to "come and get it!" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
i made this lastnight for the house and i could not stop i ate 5 plates of this stuff. it was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I have searched every sauerkraut receipe you have and couldn't believe that there were none that added tomatos! I was brought up on sauerkraut, my grandmother was slavic, but was married to a German and she used pork shoulder, browned before cooking, plenty of onions sliced, sauerkraut and canned tomatos. The tomatos sweeten the sauerkraut without having to add sugar. Mom sometimes used caraway seeds too and then made fluffy dumplings for the first night. After dinner, she would boil small potatoes in their skin, peel them and stick them down in the liquid and sauerkraut along with some hot dogs. This would be refrigerated for a day or two, and then warmed up for a second, but slightly different meal. Absolutely divine. I make this for about 40 people so use pork loin only because it slices more uniformly and I don't have to worry about bones. Also I cook it on top the stove as I will be making so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cobb Island, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I've made this several times, it's always a big hit. Even my kids like it since the slow cooker tends to take a bit of the edge off the sauerkraut! Tried it tonight with polish sausage instead of pork, it's also excellent that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
So tender and tasty. After reading the reviews, I dry rubbed it with herbs and seared the roast, poured sauerkraut over it, then cooked it in my roaster at 325 for 1 1/2hrs. Nummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Absolutely THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Longo Weimer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I love this recipe. I also make this with smoked sausage. I don't care for the caraway seeds but love the flavor they add to the dish. I put the caraway seeds in a cheese cloth and bury it. I also add white vinegar to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Found I had all of these ingredients but the pork roast. Purchased a fresh, non-frozen, pork loin roast, then followed the recipe steps wehn I got home on a Friday night. It cooked from about 8:00 PM, and I checked it at 6:00 AM. Everything was tender, tasty, and done. Yes, I ate some for breakfast. The only thing I did was to add about 1 cup of water as the cooker juices were a bit sparse. In reading the other posts, I do think adding onions and even apples would be some alternative flavors I will try in the future. I would also add even more saurkraut. In summary, this has got to be the easiest and moistest recipe I have ever tried for pork. I cannot wait for those leftover pork sandwiches! Yum! 8-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was great. Made it twice. The first time my boyfriend loved it - I thought it needed a little tweaking. Added onion (like others suggested) as well as more garlic. Left out the caraway seeds the first time because I didn't have them. Also used red potatoes. Second time, I added more onion, the caraway seeds, as well as I used Yellow Potatoes. I also reserved a little of the sauerkraut and mixed it in at the very end for the tangy flavor. My boyfriend requests this all of the time. The pork falls apart and is really juicy. It makes great leftovers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States