Slow Cooker German-Style Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
My dad made this when I was growing up, and continues to make this today. We eat ours with a side of cottage cheese and tomatoes. Serve with a Pepsi to drink and you are eating good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
kraut/potatoes had a very good flavor...smelled delish all day in the crock, however the pork was a little dry and lacking. I will experiment per other reviews next time. Not counting this one out just yet, but i found that the pork does need a little sumtin, sumtin to spruce it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I read most of the reviews and there were complaints of the roast being dry after cooking. I added a can of chicken broth, and it was very moist. I also added a little onion and that gave it some more flavor. My bf love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Excellent! We didn't have any caraway seeds, but were still pleased with results. Even our picky eaters enjoyed it! It was good with leftover barbecue sauce from last night's dinner. It was very moist and all enjoyed the flavor. We cooked it on low for 8 hours. We used packaged sauerkraut from the deli, juice and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This recipe is ok-BUT- I always add a large onion and brown sugar, about a 1/4 cup. Don't forget to brown the meat on all sides, adds flavor. Salt and pepper while browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
The roast turned out incredibly tender. It wasn't very pretty, though. The sauerkraut was okay, but the potatoes were horrible. We threw them out. They were a tad over done and the flavor from the sauerkraut in/on them was not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darbie Esther

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
If you want real Bavarian flavor, you have to brown the seasoned roast/pork ribs on all sides before adding to the Sauerkraut. It locks in the juices and flavor.You can use the broiler to do this. Add the drippings also to the Kraut. No garlic please !!!. You can grate an apple and add it to sweeten the Sauerkraut. Bayleafs (1 or 2) are a must and so are the pepper corns and Karaway seeds. If the Sauerkraut is to vinegary, rinse it until you have the desired flavor or just simply add an extra can of water. Remember, the longer you cook it, the better the taste. Every one loves my Sauerkraut...Happy cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Excellent recipe! I made with fresh pork loin, and everything turned out perfect. I left smaller potatoes whole or only sliced in half if they were larger, turned out perfect with the timing. I added 1 onion sliced in half,which added a delicious flavour to the sauerkraut. Also because we love mushrooms, I added a can of whole button mushrooms when I had about an hour left. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I made the Slow Cooker Getman-Style Pork Roast German Style with Sauerkraut and Potatoes. My daughter and I felt it was tasteless and my grandson and my husband liked it.But then what do men know as long as they fill their bellies. I made it exactly as the recipe said except I used garlic salt instead of fresh garlic,the sauerkraut was dry as it just lays on the top of the meat, and the meat and potatoes had no taste I even used cans of pork gravy over the meat and potatoes and it didn't help. It is certainly easy to make and I will make it again but I will doctor it up next time, I might try BBQ sause.I'll try different things. I love crock pot cooking because the mess is cleaned up and the dinner is cooking and I have the rest of the day to goof off. Thank you for all of your great recipes.I copy them then print them out I also send them to all my friends. Tillie Polen Scholz, Bay Shore, Long Island, NY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Shore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This is so easy to make,and the pork is so tender and delicious, it is a favorite at our house!I use red potatoes,and make as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States