Slow Cooker Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Made as stated, this is worth three stars. It's a nice dish to come home to, but not spectacular. However, I dressed this recipe up tonight for my company's pot-luck Christmas party. I drained off most of the water and added 1/3 of an 8 oz block of cream cheese, diced, and about 1/2 cup of sour cream, with about 1/2 a cup of milk, or less (I confess to not measuring). I mashed these with my electric mixer, then stirred in 1/2 cup of shredded colby/jack cheese. I covered the dish with another half a cup of cheese. At the party, my pot was scraped clean, and I even caught someone licking the spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Thought the potatoes were bland. Minced garlic may have been better, I happened to have some extra sour cream and added it to the potatoes, helped a bit, but wish it had more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROBINV
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
So easy and really good. I used olive oil instead of water. These were perfect for Thanksgiving and saved a ton of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Masontown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
This is a great recipe. My family loves it, and there are usually none left. I did alter it though because it did not turn out well for me in the slow cooker. I boil my potatoes on simmer with the same amount of water. Once they are tender, I let the butter melt on top then I proceed to mix them according to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
These turned out great and made the kitchen smell so wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreativess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
These were pretty decent. I used red potatoes and may have overcooked them a bit. When I went to mash them up, they were really soupy. Luckily, as they cooled down, they firmed up a bit and were quite a nice consistency. But they were also this really ugly brownish color. Did NOT look appealing with the rest of the meal. Oh, I also kept the skins on. So I would be willing to try it again without the skins. But you can't beat the ease of slow cookers. It's so helpful when you have other things on the stove and in the oven. One less thing to worry about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Very easy. I placed enough water in the pot to barely cover the potatoes. When the potatoes are tender, just drain off some liquid and mash. Good to make when the stove's busy with many other items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I just came on here to try to figure out what I did wrong to the recipe. They just didn't try out right for me. Very bland. I added a lot more garlic to try to help it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Since I didn't peel the potatoes, it was not pretty & white. But it tasted great! Lots easier than normal mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I peeled about 3.5 lbs. of russet potatoes, and didn't use quite as much garlic powder as the recipe calls for. I also left out the milk and used 8oz sour cream and about 1 cup of shredded colby cheese (1/2 c butter). These mashed potatoes were the perfect consistency and SOOO creamy and flavorful. My entire family of picky eaters loved them! Reminded us of the "smashed potatoes" at one of our favorite restaurants! Thanks for sharing a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States