Slow Cooker Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
very easy! nice to let the slow cooker take care of things...the just mash it up in the mixer when you're ready! I added some sour cream to give it a little more depth of flavor, but it was still delicious! Will add as a regular! **Update: I continue to follow the recipe exactly. Just a head's up...I always leave the skins on baby red potatoes... it does make them a more grayish color, but they still taste fabulous. Also, since i leave the skin on, i leave them slightly chunky when i mix them in the mixer. Took to a party and they were a hit. It's just nice to not have to worry about watching potatoes while the boil, etc... just do the prep before work, then quick and easy mixing when you get home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
These turned out really well, aside from the colour, which was greyish. Even though they didn't look that appetizing, they tasted great and were gobbled up at my potluck party last night. I would definitely make these again to have ready for a family dinner on a busy weekday, but might think twice about serving to guests only because of the presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NUTRELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Made as stated, this is worth three stars. It's a nice dish to come home to, but not spectacular. However, I dressed this recipe up tonight for my company's pot-luck Christmas party. I drained off most of the water and added 1/3 of an 8 oz block of cream cheese, diced, and about 1/2 cup of sour cream, with about 1/2 a cup of milk, or less (I confess to not measuring). I mashed these with my electric mixer, then stirred in 1/2 cup of shredded colby/jack cheese. I covered the dish with another half a cup of cheese. At the party, my pot was scraped clean, and I even caught someone licking the spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Thought the potatoes were bland. Minced garlic may have been better, I happened to have some extra sour cream and added it to the potatoes, helped a bit, but wish it had more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROBINV
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
So easy and really good. I used olive oil instead of water. These were perfect for Thanksgiving and saved a ton of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Masontown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
This is a great recipe. My family loves it, and there are usually none left. I did alter it though because it did not turn out well for me in the slow cooker. I boil my potatoes on simmer with the same amount of water. Once they are tender, I let the butter melt on top then I proceed to mix them according to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
These turned out great and made the kitchen smell so wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreativess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
These were pretty decent. I used red potatoes and may have overcooked them a bit. When I went to mash them up, they were really soupy. Luckily, as they cooled down, they firmed up a bit and were quite a nice consistency. But they were also this really ugly brownish color. Did NOT look appealing with the rest of the meal. Oh, I also kept the skins on. So I would be willing to try it again without the skins. But you can't beat the ease of slow cookers. It's so helpful when you have other things on the stove and in the oven. One less thing to worry about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Very easy. I placed enough water in the pot to barely cover the potatoes. When the potatoes are tender, just drain off some liquid and mash. Good to make when the stove's busy with many other items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I just came on here to try to figure out what I did wrong to the recipe. They just didn't try out right for me. Very bland. I added a lot more garlic to try to help it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States