Slow Cooker Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
These were just ok for us. Every Thanksgiving I make 2 types of mashed potatoes for variety. I was happy to find this recipe being they are made in the crock pot, to save me time. I changed the recipe to 15 servings because I used 5 pounds of potatoes, and they were edible, not terribly bad, but not a favorite. To many of us, they tasted like roasted potatoes that were later mashed. They do save time and are passible, but I'm sure glad I had another pan to serve. Thanks for the recipe, but I prefer mashed potatoes made using the original method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
These were bland and flavorless, plus they turned a grey color and "browned" along the sides of my crockpot. I will never make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
easy, but way too starchy. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I'm new at making mashed potatoes and my first attempt was a complicated recipe so I gave this one a try on a weeknight. I turned my newer slow cooker on high and the potatoes were done in 3 hours. Good basis recipe, I added a little cheddar at the end. Will try again but add the sour cream others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Came out awsome, I love the fact that this site allows you to change the serving size. Anyhow, I changed to 4 servings for 2 of us at home (extra for left overs) and my fiancee says they taste just like his moms. I left them a little lumpy since thats how he likes them. I did add about 2 cups of water since I had them going for over 6 hrs and just drained the seasoning/flavor water and added milk, sour cream, salt, and pepper. Anyhow, you will love these I had them on the table in 4-5 mins tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pchotrani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
My daughter said she thinks we won't be able to go back to the old way of making mashed potatoes after having these yummy potatoes. I used reds but without the skin b/c they had quite a few blemishes. Put 5-6 cloves of garlic in the bottom of the crock, cubed the taters and added other ingredients as instructed and cooked on high for about 3 hours. I could have eaten the potatoes without mashing - they were that good. I did mash them though, adding some cream cheese as suggested by others. These were even better the next day. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
so easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
With this many good reviews, I must have done something wrong. But it turned into a dark, gluey, bitter tasting mess. The only thing I did differently before trying to salvage it was add a little extra garlic since I LOVE garlic. That shouldn't have made that much of a difference. I found it inedible. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
These came out good. I didn't mash them, I just used them whole. I'm not sure that the full cooking time was needed, I turned it to "warm" once the potatoes were cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I made these for Easter dinner as written except I left the skin on the potatoes and used less butter at the end (about 2 T). They were delicious and creamy. Even my Mom who is extra picky liked them! Plus the extra time it left me to prepare everything else was wonderful :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redheadbh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States