Slow Cooker Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Phenomenal! I added one large diced carrot to the crock, as well as a teaspoon of minced garlic from a jar. This is the recipe I'll use for mashed potatoes from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marinated
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This sounded yummy, so I gave it a try. I added more garlic than suggested in the recipe (2 tsp. minced garlic instead of powder). I might add sour cream next time too, as other reviewers have done, but I can recommend this recipe with confidence! I used Russet potatoes, since I had plenty of those (peeled) and minced garlic as stated earlier, but otherwise I followed the recipe as written. I liked the outcome and will make these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
These turned out okay. Used a tad bit more water and they still really didn't turn out that well. Used Russets instead of red potatoes. Used also minced garlic which could have used more. I would make again but reduce the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassygrn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waseca, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
This turned out as yummy as our local fancy restaurant! Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This is a perfect recipe for holidays when you are trying to carve the turkey, make gravy and get everything on the table at the same time. I have made it without the garlic, especially if we are having gravy. You do need to keep an eye on the liquid level. It can evaporate too quickly and leave you with scorched potatoes. I also use one clove of fresh garlic instead of the garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RJG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melvin, Iowa, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This got rave reviews from the whole family, and was a perfect match to our grilled steaks and roasted corn on the cob for Memorial Day. You rarely read such a thing for a suggestion but make sure your black pepper is OLD! We use a fresher pepper than can be found in grocery store spice aisles and 1/4 tsp was jsut WAY too much! Had I been thinking I would have reduced it. But that was MY fault not the recipe's :). As far as changes go I used minced fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. The leftovers (what few there were) were great fried the next morning at breakfast. Thumbs up on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Excellent flavor and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I followed the recipe just as it said, except made a larger quantity for our large family. These had a great flavor, and a consistency more like a "smashed" potato. Because of the other reviews of a not so attractive brown color, I only left the skins on one or two of my potatoes and peeled the rest. I gave these a "3" because my husband didn't love them. I think he was expecting a more traditional creamy mashed potato. However, I really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
very easy! nice to let the slow cooker take care of things...the just mash it up in the mixer when you're ready! I added some sour cream to give it a little more depth of flavor, but it was still delicious! Will add as a regular! **Update: I continue to follow the recipe exactly. Just a head's up...I always leave the skins on baby red potatoes... it does make them a more grayish color, but they still taste fabulous. Also, since i leave the skin on, i leave them slightly chunky when i mix them in the mixer. Took to a party and they were a hit. It's just nice to not have to worry about watching potatoes while the boil, etc... just do the prep before work, then quick and easy mixing when you get home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
These turned out really well, aside from the colour, which was greyish. Even though they didn't look that appetizing, they tasted great and were gobbled up at my potluck party last night. I would definitely make these again to have ready for a family dinner on a busy weekday, but might think twice about serving to guests only because of the presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NUTRELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States