Slow Cooker Garlic Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I LOVE this recipe! I've made with brown or red potatoes. If you like restaurant potatoes (that taste more like smashed baked potatoes) then use brown...I personally don't like that flavor, so I use red....makes Thanksgiving/Easter/Christmas dinners SOOO much easier! Use a mixer right in your crockpot 30 min before guests arrive and switch to warm.....you can even cook these the night before, then reheat the morning of your dinner, if you are eating early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
These potatoes, although very good, were not any different then any mashed potatoes I've every made (using red potatoes). I probably wouldn't make them again, the reason being; I don't think it's necessary to make mashed potatoes a labor intensive side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I would rate this 5, but they didnt really taste like mashed potatoes to me. If you have ever made beef stew with potatoes in it, this is what the mashed potatoes tasted like. They were good and REALLY easy, but didn't really taste like CREAMY mashed potatoes. I would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLBELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libby, Montana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Not pleased. Not worth the time taken. Not touched at church dinner and my usual recipe disappears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I thought these were very bland, would not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mancelona, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
5 stars with some tweeking... I peeled the potatoes, used chicken broth for the liquid & a whole bulb of roasted garlic instead of the granulated garlic. I took some fresh sprigs of rosemary & draped them over the top while the were cooking. The rosemary infused the potatoes with the most amazing scent & flavor! When the potatoes were done cooking, I removed the rosemary sprigs & mashed them with butter & whole milk. They were hands down, the BEST mashed potatoes ever....Everyone agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaSommerville

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
These are great for pot lucks and holiday dinners. I've followed the recipe to a T and used several different variations. They've come out creamy and great every time. I've been asked many times for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Very good recipe but I had touble getting them to mash smoothly. I wanted the texture of the skins but no lumps not sure why I couldn't get the lumps out. I will be trying this again though. We love garlic mashed pototoes and this was super easy. I loved using the slow cooker to cook the potatoes. It made it easier to do other things right before dinner. I followed the directions mostly but did add 8oz. sour cream and 3 oz. cream cheese to try to get some of the gumminess out from beating them so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I made this recipe as part of our Thanksgiving meal. Delicious! I put more butter than the recipe called for, and I also added some cream cheese. We'll be using this recipe often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I love garlic and I moved mashed pots..but this was just nothing special. Honestly it can be done in a regular pot, doing this in a slow cooker didnt seem to add any great benefit. Plus by using the slow cooker for this...I dont have it for the main meat dish. Too bland to me as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States