Slow Cooker French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Oh WOW ...... this came out amazing. I did caramelize the onions as suggested and I believe this made the difference. It tastes quite comparable to high end restaurant grade to me. Love it.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Sparks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Wonderful flavor and easy to make. I save the broth from a slow cooker roast beef to use as my base, but I've made it with the packaged broth and that is almost as good. I definitely recommend carmelizing the onions because the resulting flavor is much better as well as the appearance. We ususally just use the guyere cheese, but almost any combo will work. While it can work with other wines, the sherry does seem best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Even my picky husband loved it,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
this recipe is a keeper! Very easy and a hit with the whole family. May add a bit more thyme next time. I also just used a bit less butter(about 1/2 what the recipe called for),used provolone cheese to simplify things and cut the bread into cubes to make it easier for my LO to manage. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I thought this was good enough for company. The night before, I browned the onions on a foil-covered sheet pan at 350 degrees in the oven, stirring occasionally. In my opinion, it's much easier than a sauté pan. I used two cans of low-sodium beef broth and supplemented the rest with water mixed with Better Than Bouillon. I only had shredded mozzarella for the bread, but it still turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I made the beef broth by boiling down prime rib bones. It took 2 days..I added a little water as it got too low. This made a beautiful, rich, beefy broth. I followed the rest of the recipe except for the cheese. I only used parmesian and provelone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Falls, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Wonderful. I made a few adjustments by adding 1 cup of half and half and 1/2 cup cornstarch. The soup was thick and creamy, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kourtney145F

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This was delicious and simple. I had never made French onion soup, but it still turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I did try this recipe and both my husband and I loved it!!! I even shared some with a friend. The only thing I did change was the type of cheeses as I didn't have it on hand. Thank you for the great recipe. Susan P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
We had this tonight. It was excellent. I didn't do that toast in broiler. I don't like soggy bread. We just added the cheese mixture to the soup and then broiled the garlic bed. It was great on this cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Romine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States