Slow Cooker French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I did try this recipe and both my husband and I loved it!!! I even shared some with a friend. The only thing I did change was the type of cheeses as I didn't have it on hand. Thank you for the great recipe. Susan P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
We had this tonight. It was excellent. I didn't do that toast in broiler. I don't like soggy bread. We just added the cheese mixture to the soup and then broiled the garlic bed. It was great on this cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Romine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Better than any restaurant style I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Spielbauer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I give this recipe 4 starts simply due to the prep work this particular one entails. The soup tasted amazing! However, for ease of cooking, here are my tweaks: First, I sliced the onions, and tossed them in the butter which I melted, and placed them in the crock pot on low on their own to caramelize over night, 10-12 hours. I used salted butter, so I omitted the salt. I also omitted the sugar since they were caramelizing this way. SUPER EASY. The next morning, when the onions were good to go, I threw in the other cooking ingredients to cook for the day. I had no cooking sherry, so I used a 1/2 cup of dry red wine my husband opened the night before. I am a firm believer that if you don't drink it you shouldn't cook with it. And I had 2 quarts of beef stock, so I used that all up. No sense wasting a cup. When it came to the cheese, we used what we like, so that is personal taste not tweaking. I did find, however, that I needed to add a bit of salt and pepper to taste at the end just before serving, so make sure you taste it to ensure it is to your liking. But allowing the onions to cook and caramelize themselves cut the prep work down to the bare minimum of slicing the onions, measuring the ingredients, and getting the bread and cheese ready at the end. About 20 minutes total. You just need to start it the day before, which was worth it to me if it meant not standing over a stove for an hour. Family loved it, warms well for leftovers, which wasn't too much. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate GR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I made this for a potluck at work, and it turned out great! I toasted the sliced French bread with the cheese on top just before serving. My coworkers loved it! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toytle
Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Perfect just the way it is! I cooked it overnight on low for 10 hours and then popped it in the fridge until I got home from work. If you do it this way, I would recommend heating the soup in the individual crocks just a bit before popping them in the broiler. My husband thinks it's one of the best he's ever had. It makes for a salty rather than sweet soup. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Super easy and delicious. I didn't have sherry, so I used brandy. I also used two sweet onions and two yellow, and I made beer bread in the bread machine and covered it with provolone. Easily the best slow cooker French onion soup I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Oh my goodness, the smell alone of the onions cooking (especially once the garlic- of which I added 5, chopped cloves of- and the wine is poured over).. sooooo yummy in all of its buttery goodness. I will say, however, once upon a time when I got married 4 months ago and my only cooking pans were a ridiculously awesome gift of a high-end Calfalon non-stick... I didn't necessarily expect the "scrape bottom of pan to scrape off all the food bits" to work in my non-stick soup pot, and I was correct. However, an hour later (even only using about half the butter called for, letting the onions "cook on" instead of constantly stirring and turning up the heat a bunch), the onions did take on a caramel color, but by no means were "crisping" especially to the point of scraping anything off the bottom. I sort of gave up on that, they smelled extremely fragrant after cooking for an hour and were becoming quite "soggy." Onions also cook down A LOT. Since it's just my husband and I eating this dish (and he's never had French Onion Soup but I'm determined to show him it's amazing), I scaled it down to 6 cups of broth and 3 onions. However, once they cooked down for an hour, there seemed like nothing left of substance so I quickly chopped up a 4th onion and cooked that one, too, until translucent and mixed it in with the "caramalized" ones. I recommend not limiting the onions like I did. I also recommend chopping the onions into thicker slices.. like I did mine about a half inch wide.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Fantastic - I added 3 beef boullion cubes to give it a little more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I started with 2 large yellow onions and added 4 smaller white ones. I cooked for about 20 minutes then added the sugar and continued cooking for another 25 or so until caramelized. If you don't use the sugar it is going to take longer. I added the sherry and please, if you're using it make sure it is something you could drink. After about 4 minutes or so (and most of the sherry had been absorbed), I added the mixture to the crock pot and followed the broth directions to a T. The flavors were decent but did not taste real rich/beefy. Next time I'll use this as a base and modify with some concentrated beef stock, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States