Slow-Cooker Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This was pretty tasty. I substituted lactose-free milk for the evaporated milk, which made it come out more like a soup than a chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoreMagic

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Yes its ok..I thought it would be really something...I found it very liquidy(and even added some minute rice at the very end). It needs some good spices added, besides just the garlic and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This was delicious! And, since the fish don't go in until the end, the house doesn't end up smelling like fish all day. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LarissaMcDowell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Pros: easy to make; makes enough for a small army Cons: expensive ingredients; very overpowering taste of seafood; thin broth; bland seasoning I made the recipe as written.The taste of the chowder doesn't justify the expense of the ingredients. Even with seasoning, all my family could taste was the overwhelming pungency of fish. The excessive amount of stock called for makes this a thin soup. I like my chowders thick. This wasn't worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
REALLY good- My husband hates soups and stews, but he asked me to make this one again. We chopped everything finer and used shrimp and scallops. Try it-you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Super easy! Used 8 oz fish, 10 oz bag of shrimp, and 12 oz bag of scallops. Reheated for lunch at work and co-workers said it smelled delicious... and I was expecting them to say other words due to the seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This is a delicious recipe. Perfect for the fall. Made a few of the changes other reviewers suggested, but they were small. In an attempt to balance between healthy and creamy, we added some half & half/heavy cream, but kept it mostly evaporated milk. It's definitely more liquid than chowder, but worth it for the reduced calories, in my opinion. We also went heavy on the Old Bay. It definitely helps the flavor along... and there's a lot of it. It's the kind of soup you use up your french bread on and STILL tip the rest of the broth into your mouth at the end of it. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I used the recipe and made it on the stove rather than in a slow cooker. I liked it a lot as did my husband. I used some frozen yellowtail I had instead halibut. I also had to thicken it a lot by adding heavy cream and cornstarch. It was still not ultra thick like most chowders. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Used sweet potato as well as coconut milk rather than cream to make it super healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Sooooo good! I did maybe a fourth of the potatoes as I'm trying to cut out starches, no corn, but lots of seafood. Added some Old Bay Seasoning like another person suggested--wow. Awesome flavor. And it's got bacon! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States