Slow-Cooker Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This soup is so delicious! The bacon adds a really nice flavor to the seafood. We had a frozen halibut filet, so we just put the whole filet into the chowder 1 hour (as it says in the recipe) and then just used a fork to separate it. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Yummy! Yum! I changed a few things just because I didn't have some things on hand! Added Half & Half to make it more of a chowder type of meal. My kids and everyone else LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I swapped out the halibut with a standard COD steak filet because I didn't want to pay $19.99 per pound. It was very watery so I needed to add a roux made of butter, flour, and the broth. Overall it was good but I feel it was more related to a soup than a chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This has become one of our family's favorite dishes! I think I make it every 2-3 weeks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
So very Yummy! I used Cod instead, and it turned out great! I'm going to add crab meat next time. I'll be making this soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Made this tonight and it was a hit, even with our 5 year old. Used bay scallops, cod and doubled the shrimp since I had extra on hand. Did end up thickening a bit with corn starch. Perfect dinner for a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Fantastic flavour and is now a family favourite. I added a tablespoon of Old Bay Seasoning the second time I made the dish and it really kicked the flavour up a notch with a little extra heat as well. Great addition if you like foods on the spicy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
My husband and I loved this recipe! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
A good and easy chowder. I used at least double the celery. I also substituted a pound of canned ham for the bacon. I didn't have any bacon. I used only a pinch of black pepper and red pepper. I wanted something smooth and mild. This was a good choice for dinner after a long day. I put the vegetables in the crock pot the night before. The kids added the broth and corn when they got home from school. I added the milk, ham and seafood when I got home. It took all of two seconds, so I had an hour to rest after work instead of cooking. I look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Sooooo good! I did maybe a fourth of the potatoes as I'm trying to cut out starches, no corn, but lots of seafood. Added some Old Bay Seasoning like another person suggested--wow. Awesome flavor. And it's got bacon! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States