Slow Cooker Fifteen Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Haha, whoops, I thought I was on a different recipe and hit submit. Not sure how to undo this. I gave it 5 stars though, but didn't make it. SORRY ALL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Dad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Not bad but not memorable either. All that chili powder dominates the flavor!! Can no longer taste the flavor of the ham & the beans. Easy & cheap to make so I will use it as a foundation but tinker w/ the flavors next time(s).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monterrapin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I followed recipe exactly, but added some diced ham for the last 2 hours of cooking. Used a bag of cole slaw instead of small head of cabbage, it was just a lot easier. I liked this soup a lot. Takes a good 10 hours to get the beans right, but worth it. Made it on a lousy cold rainy day which made it even better. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This recipe is absolutely delicious and very hearty. Get ready for some major gas though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by donnam
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I made this recipe according to the directions. The chili powder was overpowering, so I would recommend cutting the amount down and adjusting to taste. The cabbage tasted like an odd combination with the other flavors, and I would have preferred the soup not to have the cabbage included and would've added celery, potatoes, and more carrots. The directions should say to cook the vegetables in a large pot until the cabbage is cooked down because the addition of the cabbage can't fit into a normal sized skillet and can't be cooked down properly. The amount of ingredients can cause your slow cooker to boil over. This makes a large amount of soup and would most likely feed a larger crowd than six.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I just didn't care for it. Felt there were way too many beans and not enough soup. It was easy to make, but that is about it. (Sorry!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I am giving it two stars just because it has healthy inexpensive ingredients....honestly, it broke my heart. I have never thrown out food that wasn't spoiled, but this was terrible. I love every ingredient in it, but together it was a mushy tomato-y tragedy. I followed the recipe to a T. It I thought it was my error, I would attempt it again, but it just wasn't worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is a good recipe for experimenting with a bag of 15 bean soup. Instead of ham hocks and bacon, I use a pre-cooked ham steak. I cube it and add it in the last half hour of cooking. Also, I add the juice of a half a lemon at that point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was very good, but we prefer bean soup without the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I omitted the cabbage, used the carrots, celery and onion without cooking first; omitted sage and used the spice packet from beans. I made a double batch as the bean bag was 16 oz. and adjusted ingred. accordingly. I tossed everything in from the beginning except the ham steaks, which I cut up and added the last half hour. I cooked on low for about 12 hours - Perfect! I did end up blending about 4 c. of the soup to add some substance, it was fantastic this way. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States