Slow Cooker Egg Brunch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I've made this for the past several years for Christmas breakfast. It is great but it does taste best the next day as leftovers. The only change I have made over the years is use 2 packages of Jimmy Dean breakfast sausage instead of bacon. When I do this, I can use different flavors of bacon and skip the dill. The dill is a little off putting to some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snailcarnival

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BonisMama
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I've never made a casserole successfully in a crock pot/slow cooker, so I was leery to try this one. I swapped bacon for ham, and parsley for dill, and didn't spend the time sauteeing the garlic, onion, and peppers. (It was Christmas Eve! Had to get to bed before Santa arrived!) After reading a lot of the comments and reviews, we reduced the milk to 1/2 a cup, and only let it cook for 5 hours on low. (That was PLENTY!) While setting an alarm was a bummer, if we make it for a brunch, starting it when we get up at 5 is perfect timing. SUCCESS! The kids ate it up, the husband said it was delish, and even I was happy with the taste and texture. I may make it with less tater tots next time, and more cheese! Definitely going to try the sausage or bacon version next time! Thank you for sharing this! A new Christmas Morning tradition is born!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BonisMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I have made this twice now. The first time I followed the directions and the whole family hated it. I decided I would try one more time and use this as a base but tweak it a little to make it more edible. It was much better this time around. I made the following changes: 1. I added salt and pepper to the potatoes. 2. I added cooked ham as well as the bacon. 3. I did not have cheddar cheese so I used mozzarella. 4. I used two cups of milk instead of one. 5. I added spices to the eggs, season all and cumin. I let this cook for 10 hours overnight and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Gomez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
needs way less cook time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This recipe saved the day! After my oven broke the morning I'm supposed to make a Quiche Lorraine for my office breakfast, I needed to quickly adjust my plan. The crock pot was a perfect idea, except that I didn't have 8 hours for it to slowly cook. So, I adjusted the recipe by fully cooking the hash browns on the stove and slightly warming the egg mixture on the stove (don't let the eggs cook). I then assembled the layers in the crock pot as instructed and turned it on high for 30 minutes, then turned it down to low for 60 minutes and it was perfectly ready. I took it into the office, turned it on warm and it was a hit for the office potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This was too spongey. I won't make eggs like this again. Also needs some more zing as far as taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Followed this as directed and it was just okay. Not a big hit with the family. Most of it ended up in the garbage. My kids put ketchup on theirs. Definitely needed more seasonings or something..it was very blah. Also think 8 hours was too long in the crock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I made this for a breakfast buffet thinking I could make this first so that I would have time to make all of the other dishes. This was the main "meat" dish. It smelled good but came out VERY watery and all the onions floated to the top and tasted awful. I thought maybe I was supposed to cook with the lid off so it wouldn't be so watery but looking back at the recipe now, that's not what it says. I will always bake from now on, which is disappointing because I thought this would be great in the summer when I don't want to turn the oven on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was a hot mess. No flavor (how can this be with bacon?) Cooking time was WAY too long. I made it for company everyone thought it was awful but tried to salt it and dress up. (the part that wasn't burned) I just gave everyone cereal bowls, spoons and apologized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Just okay - a little blah in the potato department - we prefer crunchy fried. I even added a lot of spices, and the texture was just like porridge. We'd rather have cold cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States