Slow Cooker Creole Black Beans and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
This was fantastic. I substituted 1 cup chicken broth for water and chicken bouillon. I also used 1 lb chorizo and 1 lb andouille sausage in place of smoked sausage since that is all we had. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This is great. Added two boxes of Zataran's jambalaya mix after cooking the dish. Makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich Herminghaus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Excellent, just as written! Put an extra pinch of cayenne as we love the spice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Made this recipe for football Sunday. I added a teaspoon of cumin and used a can of rotel instead of the tomato sauce. I put the slow cooker on high for 4 hours and served over white rice. It was a crowd pleaser! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Good flavor. Used dry beans ( soaked overnight) sausage got a little mushy...don't cook all day next time. Served over white rice with a dash of hit sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I let it cook overnight, but wasn't quite satisfied with the taste in the morning. I added a fresh minced jalepeno pepper as well as a teaspoon of cumin, which seemed to waken the flavors a bit. Overall it is a nice recipe though...I cooked it for a potluck, and there were no leftovers--always a good sign.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This is excellent! It does not need 1 1/2 cups of green pepper, celery and onion. I put in 2 medium sized onions (chopped), 3 stalks of celery and 1 green pepper (normal sized). That was perfect, actually, might put 1 less celery stalk. Over Basmati rice, this recipe was awesome. I actually was upset when I looked down and it was all gone! Served 4 people (2 adults and 2 boys) and have at least 3 - 4 servings left for leftovers. Which is NICE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Yum, on a rainy day. Used 1 pound presoaked dry beans, one pound smoked turkey kielbasa. The rest of the ingredients were added as written. Served with cornbread and choice of toppings. My husband chose shredded cheese. I chose sour cream and cilantro. Will make again. May add cumin next time. Thank for the recipe and all the input.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freeport, Maine, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
A bit spicy for my family. I would cut back on the cayenne pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is very much like red beans and rice. The soup is good with or w/o the rice. I cooked it on the stove for about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States