Slow Cooker Creole Black Beans and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I let it cook overnight, but wasn't quite satisfied with the taste in the morning. I added a fresh minced jalepeno pepper as well as a teaspoon of cumin, which seemed to waken the flavors a bit. Overall it is a nice recipe though...I cooked it for a potluck, and there were no leftovers--always a good sign.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This is excellent! It does not need 1 1/2 cups of green pepper, celery and onion. I put in 2 medium sized onions (chopped), 3 stalks of celery and 1 green pepper (normal sized). That was perfect, actually, might put 1 less celery stalk. Over Basmati rice, this recipe was awesome. I actually was upset when I looked down and it was all gone! Served 4 people (2 adults and 2 boys) and have at least 3 - 4 servings left for leftovers. Which is NICE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Yum, on a rainy day. Used 1 pound presoaked dry beans, one pound smoked turkey kielbasa. The rest of the ingredients were added as written. Served with cornbread and choice of toppings. My husband chose shredded cheese. I chose sour cream and cilantro. Will make again. May add cumin next time. Thank for the recipe and all the input.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freeport, Maine, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
A bit spicy for my family. I would cut back on the cayenne pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is very much like red beans and rice. The soup is good with or w/o the rice. I cooked it on the stove for about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I tried it first time today and loved it! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Super good and super easy. I used half turkey smoked sausage, and half andouille. I used for cups of black beans that I had in my freezer, and since I didn't have any green peppers I just threw in a small can of diced green chiles. Ours was super spicy, but still delicious. Served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danart920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I did not find this seasoned enough. It was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Loved this. The spices were just perfect. I added 3/4 cup chopped cilantro for that extra fresh taste. We served this over rice and really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I have to rate this a 4-star as a good base recipe. However, with a few adjustments, definitely a 5-star. Most of the local markets here don't carry true Cajun/Creole/New Orleans ingredients so I have to make do with what is available. I used 2lbs of hot links, yellow onion, red and yellow bell pepper, beef broth instead of water, beef bouillon cubes (about 4), 3 jalapenos diced, 2 tsp cayenne and a dash of seasoned salt. I forgot the bay leaves but turns out they weren't needed. The husband LOVED this and frankly, I agree. It was flavorful and hearty with a good kick. I also made mango chutney and corn bread to go with it and the whole meal was to die for awesome. Next time, I may not rinse the black beans since they sometimes come in a lovely lime juice which might be a good addition. I did use the black beans with jalapenos though. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States