Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
The key to this recipe, I think, is blending or mashing some of the potatoes once you are ready to add the half and half, flour, and evaporated milk. I did this and it came out extremely thick and creamy, I didn't even use the evaporated milk. Mine was a chowder consistency and very delicious. I also added the bacon at the end, and a little black pepper in addition to the dill, salt, and white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This soup was very good and easy to put together. I made some changes to use what I had on hand. Used frozen hash browns, used 1 c. heavy cream and 1 c. milk. Substituted an additional 12oz milk for the evaporated milk. Put half the bacon in with all ingredients and sprinkled half over each serving, along with grated cheddar. Go lightly with salt if you are not using low sodium broth. Next time I will add 1 c. frozen or fresh corn near the end of cooking time. Definitely will make it with my changes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This was my first "from scratch" potato soup. I wanted one that I could put in the slow cooker and cook all day and this soup was wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out beautifully. Flavorful, great consistency, nothing to change in my opinion! I added bacon bits and cheese on top to garnish and my family LOVED this soup. It's a keeper! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lolo2459

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I followed all directions except the 5 potatoes. Substituted country style hash browns (I had leftover from weekend guests-uncooked). Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Pretty darn good and I would make it again. I made a few changes. I used slightly more chicken broth than water, substituted one cup of half & half with whole milk, used heavy cream instead of condensed milk (1 cup), and added the bacon before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Use cream of mushroom soup to make it thicker,or any other creamy soups to make it make it your own signature soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I loved it! I used red potatos. I chopped my onion up and put it in the crock pot raw along with 2 chopped carrots at the very beginning. I also used a pinch of parsly, dried basil, garlic salt, a little hot sauce. I didnt have white pepper so i just used a little black pepper. I did use all the other ingredients listed. I used the bacon as a garnish instead of cooking it in all day. I actually cooked my in a crockpot over night. woke up put in fridge then when i got home from work I put it on the stove and added the half and half, evaperated milk and flour and cooked for the 30 minutes. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I loved this recipe, and yes i modified it too! I added carrots and subbed milk for the half and half, and used low sodium broth, turned out amazing! Highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This was super good! I did change a bit. I added about 7 small yellow potatoes and half a head of cauliflower. Because it was so much more potato, I had to add lots water and spices. Loved the dill in it! I didn't add half and half or evaporated milk, but did a small rue and added that with regular milk. Then after it was all done, I mashed it up a bit before serving with cheddar cheese and homemade biscuits. The cauliflower was amazing in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Banbury

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Great flavor! I try with cream, Yummy........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea-didi

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States