Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I always wanted to make potato soup, but never have time so thought this was fantastic that it was in the slow cooker. I did halve the recipe, but follow the directions exactly. It was good, but not fantastic. I added some more ranch, a bit of dill, and pepper to kick it up for my preference. Next time I will use a heavier cream as I had to add corn starch to make it as thick as I like. Still pretty good as is though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This is a very good recipe and very easy to make. Because it does not mention various spices, it is a great stand alone recipe -OR- You can use it as a base to make the soup even spicier. We are glad that we read some of the reviews ... some of the changes that we made - (1) added a few dashes of cayenne pepper when sauteing the onions, (2) placed about half of the bacon in the soup, left the remainder for toppings, (3) pureed some potatoes with one can of evaporated milk and the flour, and (4) used milk & 3 tablespoons of corn starch instead of half-and-half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
My whole family really liked this soup, but it really is a bit bland. So, like many others, I made a few changes-- 1) I used leftover ham instead of bacon 2) used fat-free evaporated milk 3) used fat free half & half 4) I added garlic salt (this step helped enhance the flavor tremendously!) 5) I made a roux out of the flour and half & half before adding it to the soup at the end. All turned out a bit healthier, much tastier, potato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devine Dessert Diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Excellent recipe! I modified as I needed something quick and not with a slow cooker, so I followed the recipe, however I boiled on a medium heat for about 45 minutes until potatoes were soft, then added the rest of ingredients as directed. I also changed the half and half to 2% to reduce some fat and I did not even notice any differnce. I also used fresh dill and increased the amount to about 1/4 cup (fresh). It was YUMMY!!Will make again. This is a recipe that does not fail, but allows you to play with and modify as you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Pretty good! I did take some creative license & added some other ingredients. I also put in some shallots & 2 cloves of garlic in as well. And I didn't have half & half, so I used 4 cups of heavy cream. Also to make it thicker, I put it in the blender to puree it for a few seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Sorry but I did change this quite a bit due to what I had on hand & preference. First off, I do not like soft bacon so I just put some bacon bits on the side for people to top off the soup. I didn't pre-cook the onions, just threw them in with a tbsp of butter. Didn't have condensed broth so I put in 1 can of condensed chicken soup with herbs & 4 cups of chicken broth (omitting the water). I think I could have gotten away with 3 cups, maybe less. My potatoes were quite small, so I used 10. After reading reviews & looking at the pictures I was worried about this being watery (we like our potato soup thick). So I used an emulsion blender just a little bit (still wanted chunks) before adding the milk (I used whole milk instead of 1/2 & 1/2 and I only added 1 cup milk + the flour + evaporated milk & it was plenty) - but the milk mixture thickened up the soup immediately so I think that was probably an unnecessary step. I also threw in a cup of shredded cheddar & one slice of American cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I put my own spin on this by adding browned onions, more salt and some cayenne and other spices, but this was great. Added some cheddar and bacon; phenomenal! Adding to my book of favs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BowenMorris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this last night for the first time. I followed the directions with the following exceptions. I pre-cooked the bacon putting some in for flavor ; I used 1- 1/4 cups of water and at the end I wanted to thicken up the soup so I added in instant potato flakes. I COULD NOT BELIEVE HOW GOOD THIS CAME OUT!! AMAZING!!!!!! We have alot left over since it's just me and my husband so I will be freezing part of it. I WILL be making this again! Thank you so much for sharing this receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This is great, it came out thick and creamy, best I had in a long time. I have made it many times now. LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
So good! I followed the recipe except I took the advice of other posters and fried the bacon and then fried the onions after the bacon was done. I also threw some minced garlic with the onions. Unlike what others were posting, I added the bacon in the beginning (as the recipe is written). I felt like it needed the bacon as a way to get depth of flavor. I also subbed the water and condensed chicken broth with 4 cups of chicken broth and 1 cup of water. Right before I added the cream for the last half-hour, I took a big spoonful of potatoes out of the pot and smashed them then threw them back in. It came out perfectly thick and creamy. Definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States