Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I made this tonight for my husband. He had a great bowl when he went out for lunch sometime last week and he wanted me to replicate it. I changed a few ingredients only because I didn't have them. Instead of condensed broth, I used two cans of regular chicken broth, instead of the half & half I used heavy cream ( my husband brought it), I also used celery salt instead of the regular salt. I didn't have evaporated milk so I used regular milk instead. I added the bacon in towards the end (as others have suggested) & cooked my onions in butter instead of the bacon drippings. I used turkey bacon instead of pork bacon. I wanted a little more of a smoke flavor so I added 1/2 tsp of liquid smoke. Lastly, I added 1 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese to the soup once it was complete. Oh and I cooked it on high for 5 hours instead of low for 6/7 hours. My husband was delighted with the end result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I love this recipe and make it often. It is creamy and yummy! I use veggie broth and omit the bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and it was good, but bland. A little garlic salt, black pepper, and chives made it perfect! Definitely garnish with shredded cheese and bacon crumbles. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
So easy and so delicious! I made some changes I added the bacon as a garnish. I didn't have cream or evaporated milk so just used 2 cups of 1 % milk. Didn't have condensed chicken soup so I used 2 and half cups of chicken broth. Everyone enjoyed enjoyed this even the picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
The key to this recipe, I think, is blending or mashing some of the potatoes once you are ready to add the half and half, flour, and evaporated milk. I did this and it came out extremely thick and creamy, I didn't even use the evaporated milk. Mine was a chowder consistency and very delicious. I also added the bacon at the end, and a little black pepper in addition to the dill, salt, and white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This soup was very good and easy to put together. I made some changes to use what I had on hand. Used frozen hash browns, used 1 c. heavy cream and 1 c. milk. Substituted an additional 12oz milk for the evaporated milk. Put half the bacon in with all ingredients and sprinkled half over each serving, along with grated cheddar. Go lightly with salt if you are not using low sodium broth. Next time I will add 1 c. frozen or fresh corn near the end of cooking time. Definitely will make it with my changes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This was my first "from scratch" potato soup. I wanted one that I could put in the slow cooker and cook all day and this soup was wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out beautifully. Flavorful, great consistency, nothing to change in my opinion! I added bacon bits and cheese on top to garnish and my family LOVED this soup. It's a keeper! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lolo2459

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I followed all directions except the 5 potatoes. Substituted country style hash browns (I had leftover from weekend guests-uncooked). Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Pretty darn good and I would make it again. I made a few changes. I used slightly more chicken broth than water, substituted one cup of half & half with whole milk, used heavy cream instead of condensed milk (1 cup), and added the bacon before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Use cream of mushroom soup to make it thicker,or any other creamy soups to make it make it your own signature soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States