Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Four changes I made. First cook the bacon to extra crispy and then let cool. use a kitchen knife and turn it to "dust-bits" before putting it in the crock pot. This will get rid of the bad mouth feel that boiled bacon has. Second replace the water with Guinness beer. and add a cup of shredded super sharp white cheddar to the pot. Lastly get rid of the Half and Half and use heavy whipping cream. You end up with a Irish cheddar potato soup that is too addictive to stop eating. Note: the beer addition works better with sage instead of Dill for the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I cooked my bacon in the oven since I don't like onions. I suggest letting the bacon rest on a paper towel for quite some time, since I could taste the bacon grease in mine. Loved this recipe though, turned into a chowder the next day even better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I added leftover ham instead of bacon because I didn't have bacon. It tasted great. I am trying bacon this time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Easy to make and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I made it as instructed and it had a horrible texture, tried to kick up the temperature a notch thinking the slow cooker just wasn't getting it done but that was not the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This was a good dish, it turned out very mild, and by mild I mean pretty bland but the flavors were not bad. I topped it with lots of cheese and still kinda wish I had done something differently. If I ever need a quick fix this would be a good meal. Had lots of leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Fantastic! I threw everything in the pot and cooked on high for 3 hours, then low for 1 hour. Also used heavy cream and added garlic salt and thyme. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I made a few modifications- I used all organic ingredients and gold potatoes rather than russet and fat free evaporated milk. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Had to add a lot of garlic powder and spices after it was finished. Without them it tasted like potatoes in water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Not very flavorful and you can really taste the flour. Six hours is a long time to wait for bland soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States