Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
UPDATE: SINCE I WASN'T A FAN, I GAVE MY PARENTS LEFTOVERS. ALTHOUGH MY DAD LIKED THIS, HE ALSO AGREED THAT THE SOUP WAS A TAD WATERY (BUT TASTY). This was allright.... Certainly not the best potato soup I've ever had, but not the worse one either. Had my soup thickened as it should have, I would have a different opinion. Even after 30 minutes on HIGH (I bumped my sc setting to high in hopes that my soup would thicken - 30 minutes on low did NOTHING), my soup was pretty watery. It seemed to thicken up after sitting on the warm setting, but was still a tad too thin for my liking. I invited my neighbor over for dinner and she ended up showing up an hour later than expected. Because the soup seemed to thicken over time, this worked out well. :) As many other reviewers did, I too cooked my bacon, drained it and saved to use as garnish. I then sauteed my onion in the reserved grease (mmm...) and proceeded as directed. For a pretty (and yummy!) presentation, I garnished each bowl of soup with my reserved bacon, snipped chives and shredded Monterey-cheddar blend cheese. Sourdough bread was a perfect accompainment. Although good, I think I'll stick with my stovetop recipe for ham and potato soup (it's MUCH better and just as easy to prepare). Thanks anyways, ROZANRENEE. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Nice but I had to thicken it up with 1/2 cup of flour and 1 tsp of corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sir_Angus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansasville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I doubled the recipe, added a block of cream cheese, a bunch of cheddar, used half half n half and half milk and no evaporated milk. I let it cool a bit and put it in the blender. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Tower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lewiston, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Used heavy cream instead of half and half. Cooked the bacon first then removed the pan from the heat and added the onion. Then added the bacon right at the end to sauté it all together. Cooked the first 90 minutes on high heat. Then cooked for 7 hours on low. Topped with cheddar cheese and bagged 'real bacon' bits and some cayenne. Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
not enough spice/flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I created the broth with a hambone and the ham left over from easter. Then added bacon, celery,bay and dill. Thickened it with 1/2 potato flakes and flour mixed with cream to minimize the flour content and/or taste. Came out great! Men can cook :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Not my favorite. Onions were strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
A very satisfying soup, once it is adjusted for seasonings. I, like most of the reviewers, made some changes. I fried the bacon, set it aside, then sauteed 1 very large onion, diced, in the drippings, and when the onion was softened, I added two large cloves of garlic, put through a garlic press, and sauteed for less than a minute. I made the soup on the stove and omitted the water and just used chicken broth. I made the soup on the stove only because I wanted soup sooner rather than later. I used about half of a 5lb bag of Yukon Gold potatoes and used more salt and black pepper and the suggested dill (I increased this a bit). I had the lid on the soup as it simmered, then used my immersion blender to blend everything. I added half and half until I had the consistency I wanted, added 1 package of shredded sharp cheddar cheese, some fresh grated Parm cheese, stirred everything together, topped with the crispy bacon and some more shredded cheese and enjoyed. Once the flavors are adjusted, this is one very good soup. My favorite potato soup is sstill Emeril's potato, bacon, and Roquefort soup--that one is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten Parris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This is now a new family favorite :)! The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I had mad a few slight changes such as instead of dill weed I used basil, black pepper instead of white, I used bacon bits to garnish instead of bacon(works just as well but doesn't end up as soggy) and I added garlic powder and crushed red pepper. Whatever you do, do NOT add the bacon to the slow cooker because it will turn the bacon into mush. Trust me I found that out the hard way ha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
i made this soup it was very thick and delish will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States