Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This was a great recipe to start with, but I always have to change some things to adapt it to a large family. I did cook the onion with the bacon, but it made my soup very greasy so I will cook it separately next time. I also added celery to the onion. I also added some parsley. Before I put the broth in the crock pot I sprinkled the flour over the potatoes. Still added the half and half at the end. The soup was extremely think. So I added more chicken broth to thin it. This soup was delicious, and quickly disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Amazing! Turned out plenty thick and not soupy at all. I will definitely follow this recipe as a guide for creamy potato soups from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
made this recipe tonight..and was so excited for dinner time. Followed the recipe to the 9. it turned out soo horrible! there was absolutely no flavor :( we couldn't even eat it :( not sure why it turned out this way? I had it in the crock pot, cooking all day...I even used a pound of bacon....the only thing I did different is I used regular chicken broth, I could not find any that said 'Condensed"? (not sure what that even is)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Brady van Hees

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I did use heavy whipping cream for the main cooking and half and half later if it got to thick or for reheating. Instead of bacon and onion like the beginning states, I added a tablespoon of butter and a bag of bacon pieces along with onion powder. After I added the flour mix, I added half a bag of cheddar also. My family loves this stuff! I make club sandwiches to go with it and a fresh pickle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by James Moyer
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Very good! First time making potato soup and this is by far the best I've had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Moyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Pretty good, with some changes. First, I should note that I did not use condensed soup. I was able to save the recipe by adding a fair amount of shredded cheese and a bit of flour in addition to what is already suggested per the recipe guidelines. I found it needed salt and I used regular black pepper instead of the white pepper. I also added some onion powder to the mix. Turned out great with changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chance Margheim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This recipe rocks! It is by far the best potato soup I have ever tasted. I made it according to the recipe except I cooked the bacon and refrigerated it then added chopped celery to the onion and tenderized the celery and onion in a small amount of bacon drippings. I put the crumbled bacon and shredded cheese on top of each serving. My husband told me to make it exactly like that every time. However, in the future, I will modify to decrease the calories and fat starting with replacing some of the half and half with milk. I just won't tell him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Imaspazz
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Awesome! Easy! Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This recipe has great flavor but I would add more bacon and take out the dill weed. The dill weed gives it a weird smell and doesn't go over well with myself or my husband. It's also too thin for my liking, and I have tried on several occasions to thicken it up but cannot seem to find the magic ingredient to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JRogers05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly. Did not work. In fact, was not even close. Just got hard potatoes in liquid. I am not a cook at all so I follow recipes. Tried one last week that worked. Tried this one, wasted a whole day. Extremely dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States