Slow Cooker Creamed Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
This is really good. i pureed the mixture after cooking in the crock pot for about an hour, then returned it to the crock pot. it tasted even better. my husband likes it too and isnt a big spinach fan. my 4 yr old wasnt crazy about it but anything green and squishy is going to be hard to feed him even if its good. i think other kids who dont have this issue would like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
WOW!What an awesome recipe. I broke my crockpot while I was preparing this, but I decided to make it anyway. I baked it for one hour at 350, covered then for another ten mins or so, uncovered and it browned up nicely. It almost tastes like broccoli and cheese rice. If you serve it "piping" (very) hot you dont taste the wonderful flavors as well---just so that everyone knows how good this is, Thank you so much for the wonderful vegetable recipe!!!youre the best!--Lady M----
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
This was really easy to make and smelled great. The flavor was a bit too rich for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
This was very good, but does not require 5 hours in a slow cooker. It is easily done sooner. My husband made this for a special evening dinner and accidently used cheddar instead of American and it was still very good. It will be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
I love spinach, but found this too rich, too salty... like a little spinach with my cheese. I scaled it back to 4 servings but found it didn't have a nice taste. Agree with the other reviewer, it didn't need 5 hours in the crock pot - but I probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
I really did not like this dish. It was really mushy and sick. I didn't even serve the dish. I also agree this the others that it didn't take that long in the crock pot. Mine only took about 3 hours. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
One of my friends makes this dish, my husband & I love it! I was stuck in the hospital for 2 weeks before the birth of my daughter. I was really wanting this dish, so my friend made it & plugged the crock pot in my hospital room. It smelled so good all the nurses came in to ask what I was having!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
I loved this! I also made some changes: I replaced the American Cheese with feta cheese, cream cheese, yogurt and parmesan cheese (what I had in the house). I also cooked in on high for about 1.5 hours and low for about 1.5 hours and it came out really good. As another reviewer suggested, I used a hand blender to blend it all up after the initial hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe...I just made it and can't wait for dinner time to come so I can eat it! I agree with others who say you don't need to cook it that long. Maybe only an hour and a half or so - that's what I did and it tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was really good spinach. The only thing I did differently than the recipe said, was I just mixed everything together inside the crock pot instead of mixing it in a bowl and dumping it in. Saved me a dish! I also lined my slow cooker with one of those slow cooker bags, so I had no mess. This was delicious and simple. Next time I may tweak the spices just for fun, to see what happens. I used light cottage cheese and american cheese, and next time I may use egg whites just to keep this dish low fat and not cancel out the health benefits of spinach. I served this it a birthday dinner with lots of family. Most of the kids wouldnt' try it because it had spinach in it, but a couple did and they were surprised that they liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States