Slow Cooker Creamed Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
This is really good. i pureed the mixture after cooking in the crock pot for about an hour, then returned it to the crock pot. it tasted even better. my husband likes it too and isnt a big spinach fan. my 4 yr old wasnt crazy about it but anything green and squishy is going to be hard to feed him even if its good. i think other kids who dont have this issue would like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
One of my friends makes this dish, my husband & I love it! I was stuck in the hospital for 2 weeks before the birth of my daughter. I was really wanting this dish, so my friend made it & plugged the crock pot in my hospital room. It smelled so good all the nurses came in to ask what I was having!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
WOW!What an awesome recipe. I broke my crockpot while I was preparing this, but I decided to make it anyway. I baked it for one hour at 350, covered then for another ten mins or so, uncovered and it browned up nicely. It almost tastes like broccoli and cheese rice. If you serve it "piping" (very) hot you dont taste the wonderful flavors as well---just so that everyone knows how good this is, Thank you so much for the wonderful vegetable recipe!!!youre the best!--Lady M----
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
I loved this! I also made some changes: I replaced the American Cheese with feta cheese, cream cheese, yogurt and parmesan cheese (what I had in the house). I also cooked in on high for about 1.5 hours and low for about 1.5 hours and it came out really good. As another reviewer suggested, I used a hand blender to blend it all up after the initial hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This worked out so good for me. I brought this dish to church for a pot luck because the Pastor made a comment how he loved creamed spinach. He raved about it and wanted the rest that was left to go to him to take home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by grrrama
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was even better the second day, warmed up and eaten with tortilla chips. The second batch I made, I put half the american cheese recommended and half cream cheese. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grrrama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe...I just made it and can't wait for dinner time to come so I can eat it! I agree with others who say you don't need to cook it that long. Maybe only an hour and a half or so - that's what I did and it tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This recipe deserves all 5 stars for its simplicity and tastiness. When I make this, I mix all the ingredients in the crockpot (saving myself from cleaning an unnecessary dish), cover, and let it cook for hours. I agree with the other reviewers that said it did not need to cook for that long, so test it after a few hours. Also, this recipe calls for only 2 packages of spinach, which makes the dish too runny - it ends up more like a dip. I added an additional package of spinach, for a total of 3, and it turned out perfect. You can use any cheese you would like, as well. I used white cheddar and it was delicious. This recipe has been around for decades (my great aunt used to make this in the 70's), so it's definitely a keeper. Just tweek it to your likeness, and you'll have this staple creamed spinach recipe for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
This was very good, but does not require 5 hours in a slow cooker. It is easily done sooner. My husband made this for a special evening dinner and accidently used cheddar instead of American and it was still very good. It will be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States