Slow Cooker Creamed Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This recipe deserves all 5 stars for its simplicity and tastiness. When I make this, I mix all the ingredients in the crockpot (saving myself from cleaning an unnecessary dish), cover, and let it cook for hours. I agree with the other reviewers that said it did not need to cook for that long, so test it after a few hours. Also, this recipe calls for only 2 packages of spinach, which makes the dish too runny - it ends up more like a dip. I added an additional package of spinach, for a total of 3, and it turned out perfect. You can use any cheese you would like, as well. I used white cheddar and it was delicious. This recipe has been around for decades (my great aunt used to make this in the 70's), so it's definitely a keeper. Just tweek it to your likeness, and you'll have this staple creamed spinach recipe for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
WOW!What an awesome recipe. I broke my crockpot while I was preparing this, but I decided to make it anyway. I baked it for one hour at 350, covered then for another ten mins or so, uncovered and it browned up nicely. It almost tastes like broccoli and cheese rice. If you serve it "piping" (very) hot you dont taste the wonderful flavors as well---just so that everyone knows how good this is, Thank you so much for the wonderful vegetable recipe!!!youre the best!--Lady M----
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was really good spinach. The only thing I did differently than the recipe said, was I just mixed everything together inside the crock pot instead of mixing it in a bowl and dumping it in. Saved me a dish! I also lined my slow cooker with one of those slow cooker bags, so I had no mess. This was delicious and simple. Next time I may tweak the spices just for fun, to see what happens. I used light cottage cheese and american cheese, and next time I may use egg whites just to keep this dish low fat and not cancel out the health benefits of spinach. I served this it a birthday dinner with lots of family. Most of the kids wouldnt' try it because it had spinach in it, but a couple did and they were surprised that they liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
This is really good. i pureed the mixture after cooking in the crock pot for about an hour, then returned it to the crock pot. it tasted even better. my husband likes it too and isnt a big spinach fan. my 4 yr old wasnt crazy about it but anything green and squishy is going to be hard to feed him even if its good. i think other kids who dont have this issue would like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe...I just made it and can't wait for dinner time to come so I can eat it! I agree with others who say you don't need to cook it that long. Maybe only an hour and a half or so - that's what I did and it tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
This was very good, but does not require 5 hours in a slow cooker. It is easily done sooner. My husband made this for a special evening dinner and accidently used cheddar instead of American and it was still very good. It will be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Awesome! Changed nothing except the time it took to cook. Two hours total: one on high and one on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama to JRG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
I love spinach, but found this too rich, too salty... like a little spinach with my cheese. I scaled it back to 4 servings but found it didn't have a nice taste. Agree with the other reviewer, it didn't need 5 hours in the crock pot - but I probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This worked out so good for me. I brought this dish to church for a pot luck because the Pastor made a comment how he loved creamed spinach. He raved about it and wanted the rest that was left to go to him to take home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Pretty tasty. I added some garlic and substituted cheddar cheese. Also added an extra package of spinach. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFlott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States