Slow Cooker Creamed Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I've been craving this for a while, and decided to give it a try for a Thanksgiving side. I lightened it a bit with fat free cottage cheese, but probably cancelled that out when I realized I forgot the flour and sprinkled about a quarter cup of parmesan cheese instead!! So rich and creamy!! Also cut back on time in slow cooker; it was done in 4hrs or less. Will make again soon, either for a side or a yummy dip! Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Pretty tasty. I added some garlic and substituted cheddar cheese. Also added an extra package of spinach. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFlott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
good, but sooo rich!! don't think i will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Wojahn-Bailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I'm not really sure I liked this or not. It seemed kind of thick for creamed spinach but it did smell really good while it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I am indifferent on this recipe. My husband liked it, which is a huge plus. On the other end, the smell while cooking, and i am blaming the "processed cheese", ugh, next time i will definitely use something else,altho i am not sure what. any suggestions would be helpful. I also agree that the cooking time at most , is 3-4 hours, it starting burning and curdling after that. I also forgot salt, and i am VERY glad i did, cuz it didnt need it. i also forgot the flour, maybe thats why mine was curdling? Anywho the taste was very good and tasted like many delicious traditional resturaunt cream spiniches i have tried. Was also very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I'd prefer less cheese. Maybe try cheddar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Served this at a "Thanksgiving sampler" at my house (everyone brought a dish they wanted to try out before T'giving) and this was a huge hit!! (and who doesn't need to free up oven space on T'giving?) I used a brick of sharp white cheddar and a generous sprinkle of parm/romano from the can and held my breath that it would be OK - I am delighted with the result. Only pitfall is the "squeezing dry" of the spinach (I used 2 - 16 oz bags)- it is HARD getting all that liquid out of that much spinach!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I made this at Thanks giving and everyone really enjoyed it. It was good but i felt like it was missing something. I added alot of extra cheddar cheese and salt. I think i didn't dry out the spinach well enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marilyn Jerry Cochrun
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was even better the second day, warmed up and eaten with tortilla chips. The second batch I made, I put half the american cheese recommended and half cream cheese. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn Jerry Cochrun

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Good - but it makes a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States