Slow Cooker Creamed Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Warning: do NOT use neufchatel (aka low-fat cream cheese). I tried to save on calories but ended up with chunky creamed corn :( The neufchatel just doesn't melt right. In the end, it still tasted okay but with a weird texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph8608

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
My husband and I really did not care for this, which was a bit of a surprise. I thought he would love it- corn, cream cheese, and lots of butter! But it was a total flop, neither of us could finish our tiny servings, and I actually ended up dumping the leftovers straight into the trash can. We didn't hate it and it certainly wasn't terrible, it was just very unappealing. The tangy flavor of the cream cheese combined with the corn was not very good. I added more sugar and that actually helped, but not enough to make us like it. It was also just so creamy and rich and the sauce so thick. We don't shy away from trying rich foods usually, but this one just turned us off. Sorry! Next time I will try creamed corn with corn, a bit of cream, a bit of butter, salt, a bit of sugar, and a quick hit with my immersion blender just to chop up some of the kernels. Oh and if you DO want to make this recipe, know that you basically just need to cook it long enough to heat the ingredients through and then stir everything together. The corn starts getting chewy if it cooks past that stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This too easy and it tastes deliciuos! It was a bit too thin for my taste so I just took some of the liquid out mixed in alittle corn starch it did not change the taste at all thickened it up a bit and resembles creamed corn. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I made this for an office potluck meal and everyone really liked it. I used two 32-oz. bags of frozen corn which is 4 times the recipe amount. However, I only tripled the other ingredients -- 3 sticks of butter, 3 blocks of low-fat cream cheese and 1 1/2 cups of milk etc. It came out very saucy and probably would have worked with only doubling the other ingredients. This isn't like traditional cream corn like we make in the south since it uses whole kernel corn. If I make it again I think I'll try grating some of the corn in my food processor to add corn flavor & texture to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Very easy an my family loves it.I make it for thanksgiving an x mas.But i do use 2 bags of frozen corn.An i melt the butter an cream cheese first, an i add just a touch of nutmeg yummy. An i cook slow for 4 hr. Thank you. Firefox77
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
mmm,mmm.....good! There is never any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Perfect for Thanksgiving dinner when your oven and stovetop are full. Very well received by our guests. I will definitely make again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Warrensburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I wasn't overly impressed but I'm giving this a solid 4 stars because both my husband and daughter RAVED on how good this was! I made this dish as is with no changes or substitutions. Personally I thought the sauce was greasy and thin, but maybe because I am still looking for the way my mother-in-law used to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I have made this several times and it is absolutely my favorite way to eat corn. It turns out perfect every time. I use heavy cream instead of milk because the first time I made it I was out of milk and then after that, I didn't want to do anything differently because it was so good! I use 3/4 tsp. sea salt and 1/4 tsp. pepper. It also heats up very well...that is, if there are leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garfield, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This is little too heavy to be rated a '5'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 71-80 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Quick Creamed Curried Corn

This rich, creamy corn side dish has no cream or butter.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States